Let Me Introduce Myself. Part Two: My Story.

IMG_3473.jpg

And so my story continues.

I lived in that little sailboat with Midge for two years, then the winds of movement crossed to my shores. It was just after my twenty-fifth birthday an adventure materialized in front of me so without looking I jumped.

DSC_0083.JPG

Which is how I got to the top of going to the sun road in glacier national park with a retro road bike loaded with everything I own. I was excited and ready for anything.......... except riding my bike loaded up. Its like peddling a motorcycle. Somehow in my young excitement it didn't occur to me to try riding my bike packed up. So the whole way down the pass I wobbled and struggled to get balance next to sheer cliffs, the road was under construction as well. Not the best planning. But everyone who saw me thought I was wobbling because of peddling up the steep climb to the top, so I was cheered on the whole way by passerby's.

DSC_0089.JPG
This was shot right after I arrived safely at the bottom of the pass, tired and glad to not have fallen off the scary road.

My plan was to ride to Washington DC, from Glacier, Montana. I made it to Chicago before the early snow fell, a roughly 2,000 miles of peddle power.

DSC_0144.JPG

DSC_0220.JPG
I had to switch out bikes in the middle of northern Montana because my bike was too small and was giving me neck problems.

DSC_0288.JPG

DSC_0297.JPG

DSC_0416.JPG

DSC_0448.JPG

Living on the road was amazing. Its surprising how far you can get on a bike when all you have to do all day is peddle and be present with your surroundings. You meet so many people because you are accessible and they are curious. I have more stories about that trip then time in the day. A wonderful expansive time. This trip I started to believe in the goodness of the rural American people. All people from all walks of life looked after me as their own because I was inspiring them to be daring.

So I got on a train in Chicago and spent a snowy three months in Gettysburg Pennsylvania.

DSC_0585.JPG

DSC_0590.JPG

And then I got cold, for Christmas on I spent a month in Florida helping some wreck divers with their unruly cow and starting of a homestead. Great month of contemplating. I missed the ocean, and Midge (she was living it up on a ranch in Montana getting hunting lessons from the barn cats).

DSC_0194.JPG

So I decided to return to Newport and get another sailboat, I made a few calls and found one for work trade, a Pearson 30 sailboat

DSC_0294.JPG

I had just moved in and started my renovations when I got the call about my future boat the Schooner Faith. I Did a post earlier this month about my story of living on her for four years.

DSC_0317.JPG

I moved out to Catalina island and worked dispatch for harbor patrol. We were on the isolated wing of the island the west end, the wild part.

DSC_0187.JPG

I lived out there for two years. I was amazing, I explored the island, worked with the coast guard and search and rescue, Learned to dive, run a crew.

Then something outside my control happened, my world upside down, a loss of a friend. The disconnect of grief. Working in harbor patrol, it was all to real and hands on.

A friend called a week latter and said the one thing I needed to hear. So I jumped on a ferry and drove with her up to Big Sur California. We wandered the hills, saying nothing at all. It was perfect, sometime people just know what is needed and are brave enough to do it for someone when they are drowning. A few days in a got a call from my Dad, he was going to my cousins wedding not far from where I was. So I decided to go.

I met his girlfriend, or I should say re-met. She knew me when I was a baby. I had been born in Santa Cruz, we left before I made a year. My Dad was now dating her, a love affair from back in the wild day. lol. She had a landscaping crew of all women in Santa Cruz, she offered me a job. All the year of living on the sea and thinking of gardening flashed into my mind. I took the job and moved in the next week.

I spent a season healing among the flowers. Working out my thoughts with sweat and a sore back. It was just what I needed, I was rebuilding myself. The parts of me that was motivated by excitement became sleepy and the parts that loved building important slow things awakened. I watch all the seasons and worked with them. somehow I was reset.

One day a friend told me that this guy was looking to put in a community garden at his business knowing I had wanted to start one for awhile. I went to introduce myself that evening. We talked about adventure and plants. A bond was formed.

20160822_190402.jpg

We built the community garden together and then we built a future. He is my husband now.

20161109_143747.jpg

20170625_202017.jpg

Now I homestead and write on steemit with my husband @happymoneyman. I'm excited to see if I can make something out of blogging, help people learn to be the masters of their world.

20170921_144207.jpg

Thank you so much for reading. this is the conclusion of my back story. Thank yo so much everyone for your support, I feel held by this community. I will continue to strive to make my stuff better and more relevant.
Big Love!
Ren

Sort:  

It is a wonderful life you were able to live. So many adventures. You could write a very nice story based on these two post of yours that I have read. You write very well, and have so many things you could write. Me the story I am waiting for is "The Adventures of Midge a Cat's tale" "From Sailor to Ranch Hunter". First book in a series of stories of course, because one is never enough.

Best...
Comment...
Ever...

hahah

Thank you, I don't think anyone has ever said that about a comment of mine.

I LOVE this comment! Thank you, I will write that story in honor of your request. lol. I'm so glad you took the time to read my blog. Looking forward to talking with you in the future ! :)

As an avid cyclist since late 2011, I can't believe you hauled all of your belongings on that old bike! All of the miles you rode and riding that downhill. Being in Santa Cruz, your right on the ocean so you can sail just about anytime. (Good fishing in Monterey bay as well, since you were a fisher-woman in the past)

If you balance the bags weight wise well its not to bad, just have to make sure your brakes are good. We do have fantastic ocean here. Thanks for reading.

congratulations to join my dear friend @lifemovedbysteem hopefully you feel at home and succeed in media steemit platform. This medium is where we learn how to post professionally and freely from plagiarim. Where steemit is very demanding us to be sportsmanship in sharing all sorts of news, which happens in our daily lives. Congratulate our friends, send us all that benefits us on the steemit platform.@nellysteem

after reading the previous and advanced notes already posted 3 days ago. Just now I managed to focus on

reading your life story @lifemovedbysteem.

an amazing life story and a happy love story together @happymoneyman

ending the adventure by getting married and being a planter. this decision is beyond my expectations. But this is the right decision

May you continue to live a good life.

God bless all of you

Thank you so much @muhajir. You honor me with your words.
God bless you and yours.

I loved the picture of your boat "Faith". It is such a rad pirate ship.
I was also kind of amazed by how much gear you were carrying on your bike. Crazy.

Great backstory!

Thank you @happymoneyman! You are always so good to me. :)

Now i know why @happymoneyman is always smiling, wonderful introduction....

Thank you @edkarnie, he deals his share of smiles too. Thanks so much for reading my intro.

Beautiful life Ren, thank you for sharing :)

Thank you so much @karja! Hope your having a nice day in your lovely house above the sea.

Welcome here ! best of luck for you :)

Thank you, I already love steemit. Thanks for reading.

I love this story! I'm in awe of your sense of adventure and freedom. Thanks so much for telling us about your exciting and wonderful path to where you are today. And those sunflowers! You could climb to meet the giant on one of those!

Thank you @jaymorebeet!!! I really did write it so I could connect more to people like you by sharing my story. Those sunflowers got even bigger! I was sure a giant was up there. When I had to take them down at the end of season they fell like a tree, it was crazy.

I knew that it was going to be a great story! And a happy ending, too. Next stop = @happymoneyman's blog.

Thanks for finding a wonderful couple for me to follow there Professor.

Thank you @professorbromide! I appreciate your suggestion, it prompted me to write this. thank you for reading my blog and giving me good feedback.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 61014.18
ETH 3412.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52