Hi I am Karina and I am here to add girl power to Steemit and share with you the gastronomy of Mexico!

in #introducemyself8 years ago (edited)

Hi everybody, I'm Karina! I knew about Steemit because of my boyfriend, he's always telling me about the posts, he also explained to me how it works, that there are many interesting topics, etc. so I was interested in that and I wanted an account, my boyfriend helped me to create one and here I am :)

I am 27 years old and I am a computer engineer, I finished my bachelor on December 2012 and shortly after that I traveled to another city where I worked 2 years as an engineer in a consulting company, since I was living away from home, I had to cook for myself, so l realized that I liked to cook, but what I like the most is to make desserts.

As a matter of fact I am from Mexico, so what I want to do for Steemit community is to show you some typical desserts and dishes from here, I would like to bring to Steemit all the delicious gastronomy of my Country. I really hope that you will enjoy my posts and that you try out some of these recipes.

I myself am from the place a lot of people considers to be the gastronomic capital of Mexico, Jalisco! So as my first recipe I want to show you one of the most traditional desserts here in Jalisco, the JERICALLA.

The ingredients I will use are

  • 2 cups of milk
  • 1/2 cup of sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 1 tablespoon of vanilla extract

First I put the milk in a cooking pot, added the cinnamon and the sugar and I waited until the milk boiled for 10 minutes.

While the previous mixture was getting a little bit colder I mixed the eggs in a bowl.

I had to add the mixed eggs to the previously boiled milk but in order to avoid the eggs getting cooked instantly cause of the temperature of the milk, first I added a couple of tablespoons of the boiled milk into the bowl with the eggs, mixed it well (this is so that the eggs get warmer) and poured it into the milk. I also added the vanilla extract.

After that I strained the mixture and I poured it into 6 recipients.

I put the recipients inside a bake pan (it has to be tall enough to fit the containers) and then I poured hot water into it till it reached 3/4 of the recipients, this is known in Spanish as "baño Maria".

With the preheated oven at 180 º C, I put the bake pan inside

I let it for approximately an hour until they had a nice burned crust on the top.

After I took them out of the oven, I put them into the fridge to get them cold. I waited until they were cold cause they are more delicious that way.

Ready to enjoy some jericallas!!

If you want to do them and you have any doubts don't hesitate on asking. Also if you want me to do any particular Mexican dish or dessert that you have heard of just let me know and I'll do my best to do it.

Follow me if you don't want to loose any of my recipes!

Sort:  

Hi Karina, welcome to Steemit. I live in Jalisco too, in Guadalajara. I was just wondering the other day how they make jericallas.

By the way, in English, a "recipient" is someone who receives something. For example, if I send you a letter, you are the recipient of the letter. In this case, you probably should use a phrase like "small baking dish".

Bienvenida otra vez y mucha suerte!

Bienvenida a #steemit Kary! Me alegra que más gente que hable y escriba español se apunte y contribuya. Estaré viendo tus recetas de México. Nos enseñaras tacos y quesadillas? :)

Hola @sgnsteems, muchas gracias. Y si, pronto les estaré compartiendo gran variedad de platillos.

Woow! those look delicious @kary, well done! looking forward for some more recipes.

Welcome to Steemit Karina, what a nice post! I just started Steemit Food Challenge if you want to join :) There's also a channel at Steemit.chat called #girlpower I can recommend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62714.40
ETH 3447.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51