Tuning up with this platform

in #introducemyself8 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone!

My name's Laurent. I exist, I'm a 17 years old Canadian musician. I see myself as an artist but also as an optimist, honest and open-minded person. I'm versatil in pretty much all the things I do, I learn by myself very fast. I play guitar, bass, piano, synth and drums. When I'm not on an instrument I'm constantly searching for something cool to learn. I love when someone else take the time to show me what he learned from his own experiences. Feel free to give me some tips on how it works around here, I'd very happy!

My main language is french, soooo please don't bully if few mistakes are made. 

I do my best!

PASSIONS & HOBBIES

Music became my main passion and occupation by far. Playing at least 3 hours per day, sometimes more. I try to introduce at least 1 hour to practice (Yeah, because there's a difference between playing and practicing something). I've been into many different music styles : Classic, jazz, latin, funk, R&B, Blues, Rock, space rock, Metal, Deathcore, Blackmetal, ''super-scandanivian-progressive-grindcore''. I have a huge range on what styles of music I love, play and listen to. I used to draw a lot when I was younger, now drawing became more likely a hobby in my free time but I still make some artworks, tattoos, logos design, etc.

 I tattooed myself with needles on both ankles, a moon and a sun. 

MUSIC RECOMMANDATIONS & SOME ALBUMS

Here's some great bands from many different styles that I recommend you to go listen. Go check those out!

  • Primus (sailling the seas of cheese)
  • Rage Against The Machine (rage against the machine album & Evil empire)
  • Red Hot Chili Peppers (By the way, Uplift mofo party plan, Blood sugar sex magic, Stadium arcadium)
  • God is an astronaut (Instrumental space rock from Irland)
  • System of a down (Toxicity, mesmerize, hypnotize)
  • Radiohead (O.K computer)
  • Dream Theater (Dramatical Turn of event, Octavarium)
  • Liquid Tension experiment
  • If these trees could talk
  • Collapse under the empire
  • Social Distorsion
  • Link Wray
  • DJ champion
  • Billy Talent
  • Pennywise
  • Black Sabbath
  • Korn
  • Korpiklaani
  • Slipknot
  • Royal Blood

INFLUENCES 

  1. Tom Morello, guitarist-DJ and Zack de la Rocha, singer from Rage Against The Machine. 
  2. Less Claypool, virtuoso bassist and singer from Primus.
  3. Brian Setzer, guitarist and singer from The Stray Cats.
  4. Jhon Frusciante and Hillel Slovak, guitarists from Red hot chili peppers.
  5. Daron Malakian and Serj Tankian from System of a down 
  6. Jhon Pettruci and Jordan Rudess, both from Dream Theater and liquid tension experiment.

MY GEAR

Guitars :

I have an Ibanez S521 mahogany oil guitar, buyed it 2 years ago and a craft made Mansfield classical guitar that once belonged to my uncle.

Amplifier :

- Rolland Cube 40XL amplifier

Pedals :

I own a Whawha pedal classic crybaby model, a Whammy 5 pitch shifter pedal, a channel switch pedal FS-6, a MXR distorsion ''Super Badass'' model, A Boss Loop station RC-3 and a Boss Compression sustainer given by a good friend.

Now, with all this you should know me well enough...

See ya on steemit!



Sort:  

Intro posts do better with a verification photo of some kind. But pleasure to have you on the site and good luck. A cool thing to learn would be enough programming to help with Steem and built tools for it. If I was your age, I would be all over that. Good luck!

thank you very much! I'll inform myself.

At least, I can confirm his my son ;-)
Didn't know he could write that well in English .

You are into a lot of the same music I'm into! Welcome to the Platform! I just upvoted you! I just posted steemit's first pool meeting where I talk about my initial thoughts about it. Check it out! https://steemit.com/steem/@brianphobos/first-pool-meeting-on-steemit-initial-thoughts-and-advice-from-someone-who-has-made-money-online-since-2008

I'd love to hear or see some of your music. I enjoy all the musicians you recommended as well. Especially DT and LTE. :)

Good job son !
I look forward to read more .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58225.92
ETH 3120.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50