Introducing Alex-waving hello from a newbie

in #introducemyself7 years ago (edited)

facebook header.jpg

This is the cringe worthy first day at school where I walk in nervously with sweaty palms and hope someone will smile and make friends with me. I never really got any better at that, I was always the awkward kid in the class, I've now just turned that into a positive, and seek out like minded folk. Places like this have helped before.

I've been writing over various platforms for years, on craft blogs, business blogs, friends indie publications, and in more recent years I have let out my more feminist and political leanings on my website. I got tired of being a polite chirpy craft blogger, under the moniker Nice Day Designs, and decided instead to talk openly about sexuality, mental health, and self care; the things I'm really passionate about. Starting out as a new blogger again after being pretty established has been hard, like speaking into an empty cave, but when I heard about Steemit it seemed like the right place to put these thoughts. I'm not here to fill up more space online out of boredom, I genuinely want to express my thoughts and connect to a community of like minded people.

My mother warned me that when hit 30 I would care less about pleasing people and focus more on pleasing myself, my burgeoning writing has definitely been indicative of that family pattern. This 35 year old Irish women is pretty tired of feeling guilty, oppressed, and stopped being afraid of what would happen if the world knew she was fed up. My blog, and now my Steamit is a playground to practice in, I'm currently half way through my first novel. Some days my eyes are bleary for writing, my brain feels fizzy with half grasped thoughts. Other days are filled with good food, Netflix, but not much productivity. It's a balance I'm happily figuring out.

So that's me. The woman who got tired of being polite.

(All image are created by me)

Sort:  

Congratulations @alexhawthorne! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I think we are going to be steemit besties lol! I feel like everything you wrote could have easily been about me... Except for the age. Coming from an adult background sexual freedom has been a very big important topic I like to explore with people. I look forward to reading more of your posts! Sending you all the love and support!

Thank you so much @iamjamie! I just got really tired of not talking about the real things I was thinking.
Waves to new steemit friend :-)

Well start talking about it cause I'm sure I'm not the only one that's eager to read about all of those things going on in your beautiful head!

Congratulations @alexhawthorne! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great post! I can see you're new here so I wanted to make this post. Have an upvote and maybe upvote some of my stuff too!
Getting those upvotes on a new account can be a daunting task, believe me, so maybe you want to try Steemfollower where you can earn up to 5x more steem than just upvoting by yourself! It's a simple and safe vote exchange that is free to use. I made this post to explain the system in more depth and it has become my most upvoted post yet.

Thank you so much for your help, I'll definitely check that out!

fuck polite; gimme the real.

welcome! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94