The Unemployed Academic

in #introduce8 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit community. My name is yasemingy and I recently received my PhD. Just a few months ago I submitted my 269-page tome (born out of two years of research and three years of writing) to my committee. I consider my doctoral defense (April 13, 2016) to be the greatest day of my life. My valiant defense went very well and from it I emerged a doctor! A month later it was made official with my hooding at graduation.  

https://i.vimeocdn.com/portrait/58832_300x300

Of course, this was the end of one era and the beginning of a new one. Now, almost two months after graduation and three months after the greatest day of my life I am trying to make sense of my post-graduate existence along with the immense amount of free time I suddenly possess.  

Like many recent graduates, I applied for jobs for the 2016-17 academic year over the course of the last nine months. I got a few nibbles, but no bites (a subject I will expand on at a later point)… So I am currently unemployed. This puts me in a very strange head space. 

The grind leading up to submitting my dissertation and graduating was brutal. Spring 2016 was by far the toughest semester of my life. This is why I initially welcomed my summer of freedom. Nobody needed a break more than I did. To this end I cultivated my garden (literally), cooked, cleaned, left town and visited family and friends, crocheted, reorganized my office etc etc.  

Now I need to return to my work and execute my game plan for my year of unemployment which I like to playfully call my sabbatical (or the more tongue-in-cheek: post-graduate retirement). The “plan” is involved and I will write about it, hopefully, in coming days… Suffice to say that regardless of the specifics the one thing I must do without fail is WRITE. As an American academic in the humanities writing is my bread and butter. Writing is the one thing I can continue to do regardless of my ability to secure funds from the standard venues in my field (research institutes/centers, universities, libraries etc).  

This is where Steemit comes in. As I ease my way back into the regular beat of writing I need to look for ways to stay on track and remain committed to “producing” despite not having an institutional affiliation and sponsorship. This requires self-propelled motivation and discipline. Indeed, by the time I reached the final chapter of my dissertation my writing habits were superb. Now, with the dissertation behind me I need to continue the writing.  

I know I am not the first person to compare writing to a muscle that needs to be worked and trained regularly (otherwise it will atrophy). My Steemit posts will essentially keep me writing about 500 words every few days. I also hope that it will help me open up a bit more. Having just finished my degree I am also recovering from a very strict and semi-secluded life. Ideally these“blogs” will achieve these two objectives. 

Sort:  

Congratulations @yasemingy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Congratulations @yasemingy! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @yasemingy! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60875.99
ETH 3386.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57