introduce myself - new steemit writer

in #introduce8 years ago

hello steemit people let me introduce myself I am a make up artist working in TV, film (sometimes) and wherever else I can make a buck, Ive been doing this for some 20 years and its great to be able to work at a job I love. However, I am acutely aware that when people hear 'make up artist' they can be guilty of instantly categorising that person under the heading 'dumb' 'frivolous' 'vain' 'shallow' - I even do it myself!
Let's face it, the industry in which I work 'is' frivolous, it 'is' narcissistic, it 'is' shallow.. Television? I don't watch it, if I can help it.. it is a tool for the controllers of this world to brainwash the people and broadcast propaganda.. yes I am a 'conspiracy theorist' too, or as I like to put it, a Truth Ninja.
I do this job because I have worked mainstream jobs from leaving school to my thirties and I never want to go back to being a corporate drone. It pays relatively well, and it gives me time, and for me time equals freedom. Money equals freedom too, and don't we all need both in our lives?
I hope to be able to share my thoughts on world events and politics and share some insiders perspective, I have worked in the past right in the belly of the beast that is politics, political shows, powdering the noses of MP's, bigwigs, CEO's, I even got asked if I wanted to do Tony Blair's make up once, which I declined.. there are some things I just wont do for money..

I would also like to share my thoughts about my work, about being self employed, about living outside the corporate drone system, about subjects such as the pharmaceutical industry, health, money, but mostly about the system that enslaves us all one way or another, and how to stay out of it as far as possible. I have taken on a huge corporation and beaten them, I have faced bullying at work, I have fought many battles and won, and I see life as a bit of a battle sometimes, and it is hard to keep your spirits up in this world..
Anyway, I do hope that someone somewhere likes what I write.. thank you for reading and I look forward to connecting to this community!

Sort:  

Hi nix welcome to steemit.
I'm looking forward to seeing your future posts and make up work.
Just a few tips to help you get off to a great start.

  • Join the steemprentice chat where we have a great group of writers who dedicate a lot of their free time to helping newcomers avoid some of the mistakes we all made early on, and improving post presentation.
  • Have a read through this beginners Guide to steemit.

thank you, I will, Im still finding my way around this new world! :)

Congratulations @nixmakeup! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @nixmakeup! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @nixmakeup! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61915.54
ETH 3000.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59