Hi, I'm Katie J.

in #introduce8 years ago

Introduction into the life of a struggling musician

Hello, this is my first post on steemit so I will keep it short and sweet! (:

I'm a 27 year old singer/songwriter originally from Arkansas, currently residing in Nashville, Tennessee. I started singing around age 10 and well, never stopped! It wasn't until high school that I really started to develop as an artist, I learned guitar and piano and began writing a LOT of songs.

By my mid twenties, I realized if I wanted music to be my career, I had to start making some big changes. What's the old saying? "Success begins at the end of your comfort zone." or something like that. So that's what I did! Fortunately, I have a manager that was willing to do whatever it took to get me in Nashville! I've been in Nashville right at two months now and have already made some big steps, I'm fixing to release a new single called "Sugar and Spice", I have a kick ass band behind me, and were playing our first show as a band next weekend!

So the journey begins...


I will be posting regularly about the progress were making as a band, struggles, set backs we run into, etc. basically everything that a struggling musician goes through trying to make a name for themselves. I will also post some of my content along with giving advice to other musicians about the do's and the don'ts in the infamous music biz.

Cheers and thanks for reading :*

Sort:  

Best of luck, Katie. Looking forward to hearing more of your trials, tribulations and of course successes. :)

Good luck Katie. It's a tough business. Timing is everything. The struggle ends and begins when you get your first break. Ya gotta be strong and sober.

Thank you! (:

Do you think musicians will ever be "Not Struggling"? or is it really essential to have pain that gives some reason to create?

That's a really good question, seeing as how most of my best work came from heartache and pain. I guess it just depends on if you look at it from a financial stand point or a personal stand point. I was gearing more towards a financial stand point when I said "struggling musician" but you can have all the money in the world and still be struggling personally, which in my experience usually inspires a lot of creativity. And most of us musicians are "tortured artists" so it usually goes hand in hand. (:

Best wishes from Anaheim California!
Are you part of any performing rights societies? Like ASCAP, BMI,SESAC?

Me and my manager were just talking about getting on board with ASCAP or SESAC actually! (:

Thanks for taking the time to chat with me via Facebook.

Welcome! Look forward to reading more!

Absolutely! Thanks for the warm welcome! (:

Good luck Katie, I hope you make it.

How'd you hear about the site?

A friend suggested it to me.

Nice, I'm always interested in how people hear about steemit.

Sorry I missed this earlier. It would be useful for you to do a verification in your post. Here is a post that explains how and why.

Welcome to Steemit, I just saw the post because of a resteem! Hope you post more.

Congratulations @ktjmusic! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58447.77
ETH 3173.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43