Living the expat dream: on a chicken bus with a duck

“Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.” – Unknown
Hi, fellow Steemers. I’m steemerpat, aka Pat or Patricia Bray. Since 2010, I have:
• Lived in five countries (Ecuador, Nicaragua, the U.S., Mexico, and Guatemala)
• Experienced culture shock—mostly back in the U.S.
• Become a grandmother
• Lived at several beaches!
• Watched a lot of gorgeous sunsets and moving water

• Experienced the embrace of sacred mountains
• Struggled to learn Spanish (still working on it)
• Edited books and wrote book descriptions
• Experienced earthquakes and evacuated up a steep, muddy hillside at night in Nicaragua during a tsunami watch, dragging along a 70-something former Playmate of the Year to higher ground
• Watched a volcanic ash cloud from my kitchen window and heard the thunderous boom of huge boulders being blasted thousands of feet into the air

• Had a heart attack
• Climbed to the top of a Mayan temple less than a year after said heart attack

• Focused in on a knife blade pointed at my face while my husband was being beaten during a robbery (goodbye, camera 1)
• Experienced the caring of a new friend who quickly came to the police station and hospital to translate for us
• Had a tense standoff with a not-in-uniform immigration official at a border crossing
• Watched palm trees swaying during tropical storms
• Had a year-round tan from the sun for several years
• Watched countless avian rainbows of flamingoes, frigate birds, pelicans, hummingbirds, parrots, owls, and exotic motmots
• Ridden on a chicken bus with a duck
• Heard the spooky boom of howler monkeys in the wild

• Released baby turtles and watched them scrambling toward the dark sea
• Read lots of books
• Watched bananas growing from flowers to yellow fruit
• Learned just how relatively rich people in the U.S. really are
• Been warmed by the laughter and smiling faces of beautiful little children unjaded by excess
• Watched a blanket of clouds below me—from a bus
• Cried over the suicide of a friend and neighbor
• Spent six weeks living out of a car while camping in Oregon
• Had time to slow down and enjoy life before it ends.

In short, I have been flying by the seat of my pants.

I planted the seeds for this grand adventure several years before we left the U.S. During a walk with my husband on a rare sunny day in early spring, I tentatively proposed the idea of becoming expats so that we could retire early.

I had not traveled nearly as much as I would have liked. Just like many other grasshopper boomers who had experienced too many rainy patches, we were broke. I was more than tired of gray, chilly Oregon winters; I dreamed of endless summer. I had chronic health issues but knew I would have to work a lot longer unless something changed. In other words, like many Americans, I was struggling with quiet desperation.

If we had not stepped out of our comfort zone, I would still be working a forty-hour job schedule, going to work and back home in the dark for too many weeks each year. We would still be trying to maintain a house and yard with the meager energy left at the end of the day and week.

I hope to tell you more about the good and bad of being an expat in future blogs. We learned so much the hard way—in spite of several years of up-front research. I’d like to help others avoid our mistakes and discover a new, sometimes baffling, sometimes frightening, always life-fulfilling experience.

Here’s my verification photo. You can find me on Twitter, where I’m also a newbie: @PatriciaBray.

I’m an introverted and opinionated liberal with broad interests—from psychology, politics, social justice, and cannabis legalization to travel, gardening, photography, and cooking--but words and nature are my passions.

The photographs are all mine except for the ones my husband took of me.

Sort:  

Gosh, guess I should have put the photo depicting sexual intercourse higher in my blog to get more upvotes. Okay, it's just sea turtles and there are no gorgeous breasts, but still, it's sex, guys.

I've heard that out of a thousand turtle eggs, only one will reach adulthood. Seeing big mama turtles laying their eggs was an unforgettable experience.

Greetings! This article has been featured in Lost Content Digest, Issue #1. The author will receive a share of all SBD proceeds from the LCD issue.

That you so much! You rock!

I'm only just starting my travels around Steemit Pat and love reading your articles. It's amazing what can happen to us and as a consequence, our loved ones when we take the leap out of our 'comfort zone.' As a fellow introvert, I feel the best years of our lives are ahead of us when we do. ~Ally.

Thank you. I really appreciate that. I'm amazed you found my posts!
One of the best things I ever read was that a leap of faith is not from Point A to Point B. A leap of faith is from Point A. That really resonated for some reason.

You are brave and bold. I love that. What an adventure. Looking forward to more posts from you. You are an inspiration for all those that feel they have missed the boat in life to do something 'crazy' and liberating. It is never too late. Thank you for sharing.

Thank you so much! You are brave and bold for following your creative path as an entrepreneur, @bridgetbunchy. I think a lot of people in jobs they hate would consider what you're doing crazy and liberating. If you have small, quick-to-make craft items, you might check out fiverr.com. There is an Arts and Crafts section within the Gifts category. I write book descriptions and do occasional editing on the site: fiverr.com/pat5rr

Great post.... and as the others have said.."Brave lady, and supportive hubby"...Keep trucking

Thank you so much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66239.71
ETH 3448.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61