Interview - Maya Van Wagenen - Author

in #interview7 years ago
  1. When did you started writing and how difficult it was?
    -I have loved telling stories for as long as I have been able to talk. As soon as I learned to write, I began putting those stories on paper. Words have always fascinated me. To become a good writer requires lots of practice, editing, and even failure. Yet, none of these things seem daunting to me, because I adore it. I understand that the difficult parts of my job make me better, and at the end of the day improvement is always my goal.

  2. Did someone help you with writing? Do you ask for help now?
    -For my book Popular my biggest help came from the support of my parents. The way they cheered me on throughout the process and encouraged me to keep going helped me continue even on bad days. I still go to them to talk through stories, to get feedback, and to receive the occasional pep talk.

53a06a2fa4215_-_cos-01-maya-xl.jpg

  1. Which is your everyday routine?
    -My everyday routine is pretty simple and maybe a little boring. As a first year college student, much of my life is devoted to school. I wake up, go to class, and return to my dorm to do homework. In the evenings, I’ll socialize with friends or attend extracurricular activities. Usually I’ll watch an episode of a TV show and then fall asleep.

  2. Was it easy to make your book be published?
    -While I doubt that anyone can call their publication process easy, mine was fairly smooth. My manuscript drew the attention of an agent and later a publisher. As I worked on edits, many other people at Penguin Publishing House contributed their hard work and skills to make Popular a reality. I am so grateful to all of them.

  3. Have you ever come to Greece? If yes, did you like it? If no, would you like it to come?
    -I have never been to Greece, but I would absolutely love to go!

Populær av Maya van Wagenen.jpg

  1. What kind of books do you like and what do you do in your free time?
    -My favorite books are Young Adult realistic fiction. I love authors like Laurie Halse Anderson, Sharon Creech, Robert Cormier, and Judy Blume. In my spare time I like to swing dance, embroider, spend time with friends, and cook.

  2. Do you write a book right now?
    -I am working on my second book right now. It’s a novel and in no way connected to Popular, but I’m really excited to be writing it!

  3. If you had to give a piece of advice to teens which would you give?
    -Be kinder. If you’re in a situation where you can do the kinder thing, then do it. It’s impossible to know the burdens and struggles of those around you, so reacting with gentleness can make a huge difference in someone’s life, whether or not you see it. If people were just a little more understanding, I think the world would be a very different place.

I hope you liked the interview! Thank you so much for reading it!!
This post is going to be post on my blog: mariabrenta.blogspot.gr

Have a nice day!!
Maria Brenta

Sort:  

Hi. I am a volunteer bot for @resteembot that upvoted you.
Your post was chosen at random, as part of the advertisment campaign for @resteembot.
@resteembot is meant to help minnows get noticed by re-steeming their posts


To use the bot, one must follow it for at least 3 hours, and then make a transaction where the memo is the url of the post.
The price per post is the author's reputation, devided by 1000.
(For example 44 reputation means minimum 0.044 SBD or STEEM.)
Even better: If your reputation is lower than 28 re-steeming only costs 0.001 SBD!


If you want to learn more - read the introduction post of @resteembot.
If you want help spread the word - read the advertisment program post.


Steem ON!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44