You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [NEWSFLASH!] I Got Interviewed About MinnowSupport, Life, Love, Spiders, and HF19! And I made the interviewer CRY! See Inside!

in #interview7 years ago

@sircork any tips for a fellow minnow that's started around the same time as you on steemit? I feel like I've been working hard in all the wrong places. How have you gained such a following so quick?

Sort:  

The Biggest fail people make here:

It's not about YOU, it's about THEM

Three things:

1. Be the welcome wagon.
I started by greeting new incoming minnows in "IntroduceYourself" and spent an hour or two a day READING their posts, and commenting with relevant and kind welcomes to all those that appealed to me. We get 2-5K new registrations a day on Steemit, so there are plenty to choose from. Go meet them! And notice I NEVER asked them to follow me! I only said hello and remarked on their posts. Also read existing users and do the same.

2. Be the value-adder:
When you go on your greeting and meeting campaign, you should already have one or two posts on your blog so they can see what you are all about as well. This includes your own, well composed, interesting welcome post. Value is subjective, but ANY post you put up should have purpose. Humor, info, how-to, fiction, non-fiction, poetry, photos, art, whatever, if it adds no kind of value, don't do it. For an example of the kinds of posts that add value, look at the blogs of the top posters. For the kind of blogs that do not, look at Facebook. :D Always be helping. Helping someone laugh, learn, be encouraged, or less discouraged. Be uplifting, interesting and ALWAYS BE KIND! Join MSP and volunteer your time to help other new minnows when you can!

3. Persevere.
Rome wasn't built in a day, but Romans don't waste time either. This is the hardest one to explain. In fact, if I start, I'm going to rant. Come find me in the MSP discord and my peers there and I will help you understand what I mean by this last one. We will also encourage you, and help you learn the ropes of your role here as a curator or content provider. We will help you have fun, but we will also hold you accountable for your actions on the network or your lack thereof which help or hinder you in the process. Not like cops, but more like affectionate friends, or aunts and uncles. :D

When you arrive, if I'm in the room, ask me "SirCork? What is #3!" and we'll go from there. I'm asking you to take an initiative. Folks who read this post, read this comment and follow through on this invitation in #3 here, will learn, they have already taken the steps toward being successful here, and I'll tell you what I mean by that and why when you get there.

MSP Discord link: https://discord.gg/kNxM7T6

See you in the Steem!
@SirCork

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64118.79
ETH 3390.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51