How-To Answer: Tell Me About Yourself in an Interview

in #interview-tips6 years ago (edited)

IMG_3083.jpg

No matter how many times I've interviewed people or been interviewed this question always comes up "Tell Me About Yourself". Why does it come up? Because people need to know who they are talking to.

For interviewers its a starting point. It gives them an opportunity to understand who you are beyond the resume. It helps them qualify that this is the right person. Your answer helps them decide what questions they should ask. It also helps them understand are you a right fit, what is most important to you professionally, can you represent yourself (aka the company) well, and what value you offer to the company. And, a little known secret, it helps them get comfortable in the interview too.

Since the question is the first "make or break" opportunity in an interview, it is really important that you are able to answer this question concisely and in a natural voice. The best way to learn to present yourself naturally is to practice (see my previous posts). First write down your response. Next practice by presenting to yourself in a mirror. Look at your facial expressions, listen to your voice tone, gestures and body language. The "selfie video"! Yes take out that smart phone or ask a friend to video tape your presentation. It's one of the greatest tools for self evaluation.

Crafting an answer to this question can be simple. Here are a few guidelines to help you create a great response:

  1. Remember it should be conversational in tone, brief and succinct...no more then 45 seconds.
  2. It should align with your resume and social media presence, for example, LinkedIn. It should not be a rehash of your resume they already have that information.
  3. It should touch on skills and experiences that are relevant to the job you are interviewing for (remember to review the job description as part of your preparation for the interview).
  4. It should touch on why your background works for the position
  5. It should highlight the benefit of having you on the team

Here's a sample response would sound something like this:
The position is for a forensic accountant with general ledger and auditing skills as a junior member of an established team. Solid accounting skill are needed, as well as opportunities for growth.

I have been working as an accountant for the past 5 years at "name of company or companies". My responsibilities have included general ledger and auditing. I frequently am pulled into special projects because I am a quick learner and enjoy professional challenges. What intrigued me about the role with your company because it includes forensic accounting. I recently completed a 2 month forensic project at my current role. The results where amazing. I also learned I am a natural at investigation and outlining the needs of a forensic project. I received accolades from my superiors. Since this project is not part of the general offering, I thought I would look at other opportunities. Your position came up, it felt like a natural fit for both "company name" and me.

The above script is about 44 seconds (when I timed it). It comes off very natural, enthusiastic and knowledgable. It also cleverly covers the points made above in crafting an answer.

I hope this helps. Please feel free to send me questions or make comments. I am available to help you "gethejob"!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63470.48
ETH 2544.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72