You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Net Neutrality: The Battle for Internet Freedom, and Why It Matters

in #internet7 years ago

Hello @mooncryption,

I don't like the idea of paying to be exposed to the things I already enjoy for free. If this action goes through, I feel that the internet will be overwhelmed by ads and content I don't enjoy, forcing netizens to pay for salvation. This is a prime example of how governments want to control everything for their populations.

There was an interesting point you brought up with competition on subscriptions being driven upwards, where everyone will end up paying more and more to get their preferred content.

The internet was made for everybody, and now people want to be in charge of it, I feel this is similar to all the cryptocurrency regulations being looked at. Having uncensored internet benefits everyone the same way that having international bankless transfers do.

Thank you for providing the details in a way that's easy to digest,
<3 shello

Sort:  

Hey @shello,

Thanks for your comment :) I totally agree with you, and I certainly hope this decision doesn't get passed.

As you said, the internet was made for everybody, and with the FCC trying to take control of things not everyone may have the same kind of access.

Thanks,
@mooncryption

Thanks for the prompt reply @mooncryption,

Although I don't personally agree with all comments in the thread, I feel that to an extent if the FCC does gain control over how much we pay versus how much we see, I can imagine that later generations being brought up into this will struggle getting online at all. While there are people like us that will able to afford some subscriptions if this does happen, there are others that won't be able to. Sure, weeding out the weak, but not everyone who is poor is lazy.

I understand that not everyone is for net neutrality, but it doesn't mean their opinions are less valid.

Lots of food for thought here,
shello

I definitely agree. I welcome all opinions, for or against, though I personally do support Net Neutrality.

I also support net neutrality, because sometimes the world needs to look out for the little guy. I think overtly uneven odds can make people feel insignificant sometimes. More about the human race, than only some succeeding.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63834.78
ETH 2627.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78