Fighting Hormonal Weight Gain

in #intermittentfasting6 years ago (edited)

Weighing-Scale.gif

I have always been the skinny one. In high school, I was so rail thin, I was so embarrassed by my non-existent boobs. Then marriage came and I gained weight. Perfect. Got the body I want. Then I passed my 40th birthday and the weight kept on climbing.

Online Ventures meant more Food and less Walking (for me)

Four years ago, I decided to leave my regular job and figure out how to earn online. I was so focused on my ventures that I jugged endless coffee with Coffeemate’s Italian Sweet Cream while shoving different chips and carbs in my mouth. I did not notice that I was gaining weight until I tried to wear something other than my PJs.

By then, I did not own a weighing scale. Well, I did not escape finding out my weight. My doctor told me that I weigh 160 lbs. and I am just 10 lbs. overweight. What? I used to weigh around 130 lbs. give or take 5 lbs!

Going Back to Work to Move More

Back at home, I tried to move more and do a bunch of exercises. Bad call, I ate more. Then, a friend of mine told me there is an opening in my previous work place. My first reaction was to reject it. What about my business? But then, it might force me to move more. And wearing clothes other than PJ’s will make me hyper-aware of how my clothes fit.

Bad call. None of my clothes fit. But still, I shopped for tops that camouflage my big belly and got the job. I did move more and ate less at work. But then, after a tiring day, I tended to reward myself by eating out. In the end, my old clothes still did not fit.

IF or Intermittent Fasting

One weekend, I was scanning Amazon Prime movies when I saw a documentary on fasting for health. Well, my mom just passed away because of Alzheimer’s so I was intrigued. I looked for reputable books and I stumbled upon The Complete Guide to Fasting: Heal Your Body Through Intermittent, Alternate-Day, and Extended Fasting I read it again and again. Cross checked other authors and googled them. In the end, I can only agree that fasting is really a God given way to repair our bodies and even lose weight.

That did it, I started IF on February 25th and even did an extended fast two days ago to stimulate autophagy—-which is just a technical term for letting your self (auto) eat (phagy) your damaged cells to promote regrowth. I was amazed to lose 14.2 lbs in just a month! And yes, I do have a weighing scale now and it connects to my iPhone. It's a Weight Guru Wifi Scale and it automatically feeds its info to my Phone app complete with my muscle, water and fat composition.

So who am I?

I am just a regular mom who wants to stay home with her young adult son with autism. That’s why I call myself @specialmom. I want to stay healthy for my family especially after I saw how my mom deteriorated because of Alzheimer’s. And I want to have multiple streams of income that is not dependent on an employer.

Upvote and follow me @specialmom as I share with you the specifics of my journey back to health and location-free income streams!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit!

WARNING! The comment below by @miky leads to a known phishing site that could steal your account.
Do not open links from users you do not trust. Do not provide your private keys to any third party websites.

I think we are a part of something truly special here, and I welcome you! Another early adopter to this amazing technology.

I agree, @lopezdacruz. There is something special here in this community.

Congratulations @specialmom! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Hello dearie, steemit is the place for you.
Join steem schools where there are talented story writers and 5,000 steemians.
https://discord.gg/pqWrzBn
You will be thought about the use of tags and how to attract the right audience.

The school helped me, it can be of help to you too.

Welcome to steemit
You can join this discord channel to be taught how to go about how to succeed on steemit and learn business,poetry,art,crypto and get motivated,taught how to make good posts and comment
https://discord.gg/WaeJXmE
Join the discord channel today and learn something in the academy of life

Congratulations @specialmom, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps that have been worked out by experts?


Welcome to Steemit @specialmom!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58097.21
ETH 2581.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41