Intermittent fasting for an old guy

in #intermittent7 years ago

Well today after much research into this I've started, I've decide to attempt to fast on 19/5 which is fast for 19 hours a day, only consuming water and black coffee.

My eating window is from 5pm to 10pm which I can eat, HOWEVER I'm going to reduce my carb intake to a bare minimum, why you may ask, well I'm a type 2 diabetic and I've had a lot of success in getting off 9 tablets a day(Metformin) to now no medication at all, but lately I've been bad with my eating and yesterday my blood sugars were 14.5.

So this morning I started, resulting in blood sugars of 5.7 at 5pm which is pretty good, reducing this in a short time.

I have had success in weight loss from 127kg down to now 103kg which took me 4 years.

Will keep you postedIMG_3882.JPGIMG_3883.JPGIMG_3884.JPG

Sort:  

Awesome, keep going.
I am doing the same for almost 6 month now, don't know what time are you usually go to bed but you should try to eat a little earlier and stop eating earlier,like from 14 to 18 doing so you give your body more rest during the night time and you will feel like a lion in the morning.

Yes moving my eating to 3pm till 8pm, thanks

Very happy to read this Tony, thank you for sharing your story and inspiring others to reevaluate their intake and food choices. I am certain you will see great shifts in your overall health and specifically the insulin management issues.

May I just add that in my humble opinion don't be too distant from complex carbs from plant foods. Agreed refined and processed food is a no go, however gentle testing and adjusting with whole foods may help regulate and stabilize energy and emotions through the fasting period. Especially as the other fasting challenges arise along the path.

Much love and wholeness.

Thanks bro !

Ideally if you can, try not to eat too late in the day (like 10 PM). Better if you can cut off earlier around 8. The reason for this is because eating late at night before bed disrupts your circadian rhythm

Fasting is a great cure for type 2 diabetes. You should check out Jason Fung's books on it if you're looking for a looking for more info on it.

Outside of that, you're doing it right and the result show. Low carb is the best way to keep stable blood sugar levels. Water + coffee means no empty calories and helps we satiety.

You're making the best choice you can for your health!, I'm looking forward to seeing your success.

See a lot of his videos, and moving eating to 3-8

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59435.06
ETH 2521.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42