How to be an interesting person

in #interesting8 years ago (edited)

I once worked for a narcissist (haven’t we all?). When I resigned from the firm, he called me to his office, patted me on the head and asked “Do you really think that you will open doors on your own, without our impressive brand behind you?”. I panicked for as long as it took me to remember that it was I who opened the door to the impressive brand when I put myself forward for that job, and secured it, several years before. When we step forward into our own businesses, without the clout of a big brand behind us, this is required: gumption, determination and the fundamental of today’s post – being interesting.

We’ve all met those men or women who bore us at the dinner table as they flounce and flaunt their own success. They’re proficient in jargon – they cite the numbers, the brands, the names in high circles. They show us pictures on their super-duper tech devices of their marble kitchens, their kids valedictorians, the fine wine given them as a gift from someone who ought to make us swoon because their last name is synonymous with having reached the top. Yawn. Invite these same, seemingly worldly people into a conversation about something that has nothing to do with business, money or high-flying, and you may see them stutter. They're really busy building their success that they leave little time for other pursuits and interests. Who are these people when that big brand that backs them is not embossed on their pencil case? Are they interesting enough to open doors on their own?

I arrived in Latin America - Santiago de Chile two and a bit years ago. It's a big, big city. Before I arrived, I knew only one person in the whole city (one is better than none, so lucky me!). And I was really keen to make friends, connect with people and explore the opportunities. Whilst I may have (through hard work and consistency) achieved some degree of ‘success’ at home, I was as arbitrary as a common city grey dove in this new world. Gloating about my marble kitchen (that’s tongue in cheek – I don’t have a marble kitchen…yet!) was not going to open a single door for me here. And so I have learned this: it’s not the success that maketh the women, but the interests she has. It’s been my photography, my yoga, my improv acting, my fascination with travel, my love of cooking and of music, my concern for animals – these are the things that attracted people to me, and me to them, and opened up the doors that allowed me to take steps into a society that may or may not care for my previous career success. And, I’m delighted to say that this exploration of my interests has resulted in my securing clients, friends, interests, talks and workshops in this fabulous city and in others I have visited across South and Central America. So here are my five reasons why being interesting is as important as being successful;

1) It shows a well-rounded personality. None of us are impressed anymore with those who worship “too-busy-to-have-hobbies”. Seriously, it’s time we get a life!

2) It stimulates conversation. Conversation is a two-way process. What are you interested in? What am I interested in? It’s a back and forth that all of us love. It endears us to people and them to us.

3) It demonstrates broadmindedness. Broadmindedness demonstrates cultural appreciation. Interests and hobbies make you look big and broad (not literally!)

4) It exposes you to many more contacts. Let’s stop hanging out with just bankers. The people in a gym class, a pottery show-case, a poetry reading – they also need you and your services. Surprisingly, they may open up a whole new market for you.

5) Life is too short to not have fun! Refer back to reason number 1. Don’t spend all your time in the office. Get out and explore your interests. Have fun doing something that may well open a door for you in the future in a way you never anticipated.

Sort:  

Congratulations @motivcoach! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @motivcoach! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @motivcoach! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62928.79
ETH 2465.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55