selectedvisuals #1 - Weekly Visual Inspiration

in #inspiration6 years ago



Shibuya_Night_(HDR).png


Welcome to selectedvisuals, a series where I'll list some very inspiring (from my point of view, obviously) visual media that I found throughout last week. I'll go for anything, whether it's a music video, a photo, a Photoshop tutorial, a short film et cetera.

This week is kinda synthwave-themed, even though I don't plan to have a theme for every post, but I admit that I love vaporwave and synthwave and I follow a lot of artists that use these styles. And that's how we get to the first point on my list:



The Weeknd, Kendrick Lamar - Pray For Me (Lyric Video)



I'm a huge geek when it comes to DC and Marvel, and Black Panther is one of my favorite comic characters, so I was a bit skeptical about the movie and chose to wait a bit, to see what people had to say about it and then watch it. By this day I haven't yet went to cinema, mostly because of the lack of money and because, after watching Justice League, I stopped going to premieres (I guess I'll go when I have a free weekday). From what I've heard, the plot is not that groundbreaking and people are mostly hyped because Hollywood finally stopped whitewashing and I'm really happy that a movie featuring an all-black cast is breaking record after record.



Being a huge Kendrick Lamar fan, I listened to the full soundtrack album when it was released back in February and I instantly knew that Pray For Me is gonna become a huge hit. Weeks later, an artist whose work I purely adore, Kidmograph, posted on Instagram that he did the animation for the lyric video, and oh God, it's absolutely amazing.


More of Kidmograph's work on his website.



This amazing picture of Tommy Wiseau

28871144_710711439133214_3418454076789096448_o.jpg


Those who read my introduction post know that The Room is one of my top 5 movies of all time. First time I watched it I found a version that had Spanish subtitles and that added an even bigger wtf level to it. I think that this movie goes a full circle it's so bad that at some point it becomes wonderful, taking your mind places, like whoa, this can't be happening, this movie doesn't exist, this is a joke played on me, but, at some point, you realize that you're witnessing a masterpiece, the purity of unintentional, because any legendary director you name can't do a movie this bad without it feeling fake.


The Disaster Artist was Tommy Wiseau's redemption. He finally realized that his movie was utter shit, but it was an utter shit that came down from deep down its heart. And that is his direction right now, he'll conquer the world by being the human paradox that he is. Hardly waiting on other work from him, and who knows, maybe seeing him as Joker sooner than we believe.


Taken via the master's Facebook page



[GLOW LIKE DAT] Isamu Yamamoto ∞∞Tokyo Street Skate Dreaming ∞∞



This is more of a throwback than a weekly fresh find, since I first saw this video months ago, but I was looking in my Youtube Favorites and I thought that this definetly is worth being mentioned. I never was a skater kid myself, but I loved the culture (a year ago I replayed all the Tony Hawk PC Games and at the moment I got my hands on Project 8) and this 14 years old boy called Isamu is nailing it! Also, the video is set in Tokyo, so it goes really well with the synthwave theme, I could say.


For those also interested in skateboarding and beautiful video edits, I highly reccomend cogmid.



Fellow Steemian @patternsandwich's art

U5dsBabtVdfY75TTaRNe8T3HHiwJmx6.gif

I'm ending this post with an artist found on this site, and I have to say this his work blows my mind. Mr. Patrick Sandwich is experimenting with computer art and has a series called PIXEL REFORM (the image above was taken from his 210th instalment), and the products that are coming out of his hand have a unique beauty, the charm of the unknown, since you never know what can come out of it.


He also has a series called RANDOM PERSON (link to the last one that he made at the time of writing this post), where he creates a graphic portrait of a fictional character, while attributing him unique preferences such as interests & hobbies, favorite music and favorite animal. Personally, I find this one a very useful tool for fiction writers, since it can give you a starting point for your original character.




That's all for this week. Thanks for reading, leave a comment if you find something in my list that also inspired you and don't be afraid to show me other similar works (even better if it's yours! :D). Also, if this is your first time on my blog, feel free to read my other posts and maybe leave a follow. Have a nice week, love y'all!
Sort:  

cool post!
so nice that you mention me!
i'm happy that you find my stuff interesting :)
thanks!

Dear friend! Next time also use #artzone and follow @artzone to get an upvote on your quality posts!

thanks, I will surely use it next time!

Congratulations @jonisling! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64242.18
ETH 3496.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50