I Live On Earth At Present

in #inspiration6 years ago (edited)

This morning (it's morning over here) @slickwilly shared a thought-provoking quote on his blog. You can read the post here - "I Live On Earth At Present"

BaZef6m.jpg
-@slickwilly

“I live on Earth at present, and I don’t know what I am. I know that I am not a category. I am not a thing — a noun. I seem to be a verb, an evolutionary process – an integral function of the universe.”
― R. Buckminster Fuller

This is a great post. Each line is potent and powerful. I have a few thoughts and I'll like to share them.

I live on Earth at present

What a great way to begin an awesome way. He begins with reality, what he can see.

I also like the humility. I mean, no one is going to be on earth forever. Maybe your body will, in different forms, but you'll be gone. When we all realise we're on earth for a little while, we'll begin to focus on the things that matter. We'll love freely, share more and judge less.

...and I don’t know what I am.

To be honest, no one really knows who they are. We're all in a process of discovery. Some are deliberate and consistent, some are barely conscious while others disregard the entire process.

The first step to self discovery is to know you know nothing. It is this acknowledgement of our ignorance that drives us to learn more. It also provides the humility needed learning.

I know that I am not a category

Science classifies life and non-life into categories. While that has its uses, humans transcend categories. I like to think humans are spiritual. I'm an atheist so I'm using 'spiritual' in a nonreligous sense.

We are embodiments of life, no matter how little or mundane we are. We are unique beings, beautiful and ugly in our differences.

I am not a thing — a noun.

I like to think this means we're not just objects in existence. Like a chair in a room or rocks on mountains.

We are living things. We are alive.

I seem to be a verb, an evolutionary process – an integral function of the universe.

Verb... Action, Activity, Alive. The universe is in a constant change and we're a part of it. We influence and are influenced by that change. We can be deliberate about this or we can allow chance take the helm.

Those are my thoughts.

I'll like to know what you think about them. Wanna share?

Blessings

Sort:  

Very rare people are found who can understand the depth of poems. Appreciative. keep flourishing!

Hello @IamTheGray your post has been featured on the Stach Post Review Article
Thanks for using the Stach Tag.
Keep Being Creative!.

Courtesy - Stach Curation team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 63862.88
ETH 2754.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64