You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Expand Your Options, Expand Your Life

in #inspiration7 years ago

I don't go to my parents house for the holidays anymore. I haven't for the last 16 or so years since we moved away from that state (and the toxic, dysfunctional, abusive extended family).

However, now that our children are adults, we still all get together, but we get together for family nights at least twice a month already, so the holidays aren't much different. My kids will start complaining if we don't have official family nights at least twice a month and I feel VERY fortunate that we have a healthy family that enjoys hanging out together.

It helps, I suppose, that we're all pretty laid back and live close by. My kids all get along and started going on 'sibling birthday dates' years ago when they were teens. My son would take his sisters out for a movie or food or whatever when he got his license and they all just developed those traditions that I think are awesome.

I got off track... sorry. Your posts always make me think so much!!!

I think your attitude is great and healthy and you're doing this whole life and learning thing so so well. Congratulations on another great post!

Sort:  

Ah that's so wonderful @byn! It's great to know that just because dysfunction was present in a former life, that the pattern doesn't have to continue into the next one.

Sounds like you have a quite an awesome family :)

Thank you for the uplifting words @Byn!

I always enjoy your posts and yes, the patterns of our past can definitely be broken and remade in better, healthier ways! I hope you have a fantastic holiday.

You too :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58075.38
ETH 2463.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38