You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Be Bold And Mighty Forces Will Come To Your Aid

in #inspiration7 years ago

Oh yes, it is TOUGH to go against the grain. I tried for so long to be what others wanted me to be. And my body suffered for it, my soul shattered, but my will never died out.

A part of me always held on to what I truly believed in. I got on the famous train, wanting to get to Hollywood with everyone else in Theatre school, but when I learnt I would need to give up my creative freedom, I decided that I would find other ways of doing what I love. I can walk on other carpets that are better suited to my needs.

When I tried to be everything that a narcissist said I should be, I got sick and realised I was being manipulated. I stood my ground and chose what I wanted to be and sought for in a relationship and found just that.

I don't compromise anymore, unless it's a fair compromise that will bring value to me and my relationship. Because sometimes compromises are necessary.

Sometimes I still fall into the trap of devaluing myself, but I still stand my ground to what I believe and feel is best for me. People will criticise, and maybe I need to learn to ignore it because it brings me down sometimes, but even with all that, I still do, as we say in French "à ma tête". I choose what and when.

I tried working slave job for many many years in a row. And I burnt out. So now I work for myself. I don't think I can ever go back now. If I do, it will be udner very specific circumstances and I will make my stance very clear to whomever employs me.

"I am not a slave." is a quote from Dragon Age 2, a character named Fenris speaks it. Even if I live in a society of enslavement, where many don't realise we are slaves to the system, there is still a certain level of freedom if you know how to access it. I am accessing it. I am not a slave.

Sort:  

@binkyprod what you shared here is powerful. I can very much relate to what you are saying in terms of my own life experiences. I was on the doctor train and had to choose between giving away my soul for a unfulfilling yet comfortable lifestyle, or committing to who I truly am without any guarantees.

I also work for myself now and although it's extremely difficult at times and rarely a true sense of security or consistency, I feel amazing know that I am free to be me... and it is through this freedom that I am uncovering my true worth - which is magnificent.

It's my belief that when you commit to who you truly are you will be rewarded with far more than you could have ever imagined. Giving up security is the greatest security one could ever have.

Cheers to you my fellow trail blazing friend!

Giving up security is the greatest security one could ever have.

Yes, because being true to ourselves becomes a necessary constant and something that we can truly rely on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65407.18
ETH 3576.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48