Another bug edition: Hello handsome!

in #insects6 years ago

This good-looking, well camouflaged character has been having a good time snacking on my succulents, no wonder it's gotten so big

stone grasshopper.jpg

Called Stone Grasshoppers, Lobosceliana loboscelis are known for hanging around among dried leaves and this is either a female, which are wingless, or a male nymph, but because it's so big, I think it's probably a female.

stone grasshopper2.jpg

The cats were pestering it and females are known to kick out violently with their hind legs, and hiss by inflating and deflating their abdomens which is exactly what this one was doing so I suppose I had better take this one somewhere else unless I want lots of little grasshoppers munching on my succulents! I also don't know why this one is so far South, they are not supposed to be found in Johannesburg

Sort:  

My opinion:
This grasshopper looks strange and a bit unpleasant.
But his camouflage is great!
I first time see such a grasshopper.
Therefore, I am very interested!

This is also a new kind for me

It is always interesting to learn and see something new!

It's not big, it's huge! Gave me chills.. But it's still so interesting. What did you do with him? Let's say he just stopped by to say hello.

I just left it there. We are used to finding such large bugs here, it's the heat that allows them to grow.

But isn't he eating the suculents?

Tough looking guy.

Reminds me of a greek horse

She's so unusual looking and would be very camouflage if they hang out in the dry leaves.

That's why I was surprised to find her, she's supposed to live in the woods, not the grasslands

These grasshoppers are like locusts that eat everything. How well they mask the color of the soil on which the plants grow. I think these are plant pests. They probably eat their leaves and flowers.

Congratulations @nikv! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

amazing, i never seen this type of inset. love the colors and very adorable ❤ This is really cute!
love your photography style.

so pretty and cool :) awesome nature of course!

I could hardly tell that they are insects! Just like dried leaves.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh my that is really something. I had to look twice at the first photo to spot the full body and make out the insect. It is really unusual indeed.

At least you know your plants are good; good enough for them to snack on.

I was thinking of you and your microscope when I posted this one. When are you going to do some more for us ;) adding to @linnyplant's prodding

adding to @linnyplant's prodding

HAHAHA!

Spring is here; and Summer is around the corner. Hopefully more interesting bugs will make their way happily into my collection. Actually, I did see an interesting ant when I was watering the plants today. It was kinda big. ooooo you just made me think of something I should check out under the microscope next. I wonder if they are as interesting in their larvae form.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63615.94
ETH 2475.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54