Fist On With Katydids - In NightPhotography #28 - "Must View" ( 8 x Photos )

in #insects8 years ago

Katydids

"Tettigonia"


Here is one sitting on my lantern


Insects in the family Tettigoniidae are commonly called Katydids or Bush Crickets
This one in the photography are the adult Katydids , looks like a Grasshopper but the hind legs are much longer than grasshoppers. It closer family to Crickets than Grasshopper due to it rubs its legs when making distinctive sound. That's how it got its name.

Latin Tettigonia mean Leafhopper , it is from Greek Tettigonion, the diminutive of the imitative (Onomatopoeic)


The Size of a Fist



Another Night Photography Adventure by @bullionstackers , searching for #insects and creatures of the dark.

How this Katydids , the size of my FIST , "Fist on" .



Nice, beautiful Green



Then it starts crawling up my arm





There are actually more in the garden, is hard to play with two of them as they will jump off.


Previous link



This one in the photography are the Nymph or juvenile Katydids , previous photo exactly taken two months ago, for size comparison


Katydids in Nightphotography 5


Katydids in Night Photography Series 28 - Original Photography and Written by @bullionstackers
Night Photography - Original By @bullionstackers
Camera Iphone 6 with Lantern Light.
All Copyright Reserve


If you Like it, Love It

Follow and Visit my Page at @bullionstackers

Sort:  

Thank you for posting @bullionstackers.

Lovely photographs...looks like you exercised great patience. These katydids are beautiful. Thank you for bringing their story to Steemit.

All the best. Cheers.

Thanks @bleujay
I have been busy all day. Trying to catchup with everyone in my FEED.

That is how it works...does it not. It is getting to the point that one spends one day curating/commenting and the next composing when previously it could all been done in one day and before that twice a day. Amazing. Wish you well. Thank you as always for your support since the very beginning. Cheers.

An upvote is always good, it brings yours REP up.

So that's why Jiminy Cricket looks like a grasshopper but they call him a cricket. One of the biggest mysteries of my childhood has been unraveled today. Thank you!

Crikey!!! Me , I lose many Katydids due to the Giant PreyMantis in the Garden.
Has eaten many of my #insects plus others unknown insects.
Luckily, the are about 10 left in the bush, that I can pet and play with them.

Someone should tell that preying mantis to go live somewhere else if it just wants to sit around all day doing nothing and eating all the food.

That's the balance ecosystem, so I guess , I can't.
I haven't kill any of them as they are Perfect for my Photography Topic.

I respect natures cycles as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59400.36
ETH 2498.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47