You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tomato Hornworm

in #insectpub5 years ago

What a great post - what an awesome shot of the wasp eggs!
I actually tried frying these fellows one summer when my tomato plants were being decimated. I didn't like killing those cigar-sized worms. (Does that make me vegan? If I had to kill my own meat, I likely would be.)

https://www.thedailymeal.com/recipes/fried-green-tomato-hornworms-recipe

Sort:  

Ugh! I'll pass :-)

If I hadn't seen the worms wiggling in the skillet (and pooping in it!!!) and dying there, I wouldn't have minded. I could eat them only if I mixed them with other greens (plant based). I couldn't just shove the worm in my mouth and chew. Also, they needed a lot more spices than I had used. Salt and pepper alone will not suffice. But I'm totally ready to go entomophagy and keep cute little pigs from becoming bacon. :)

Worms get no respect :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62668.27
ETH 3332.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46