Anxious days // Unable to decide

in #innerblocks5 years ago (edited)

Well it’s been a while since I did an honest post on Steemit. I made a commitment a while ago to try and write positive stuff, to not show my ego around so much and just to share things that could be helpful.

gr5ejp.jpg
Source

But sometimes it feels empty to act as such a machine. Like you just switched on a program and your only quest in life is to fulfil the demands of the code. The truth is not all is positive and not all can be classified as useful information. Some things are just sad and not all attempts end up in victories.

Right now I’m going through times of great indecision. In a month I will have to hand over the house I’m renting and I have so many interesting options that I just can’t pick one. This has been affecting my creativity and draining my energy big time, sending me into a spiral of anxiety.

One of the options is to live in the countryside where a woman I befriended at job has offered me the rental of a room. She also gives me the option that if I don’t want to work in a paid job I can just stay at the farm and help out. It’s a great blessing to receive this proposal but at the same time I’m not entirely sure if I’m ready to enter someone else's life rhythm.

I’m also realizing I have a hard time trusting people. It seems to me that her intentions are of goodwill and innocent love but I can’t help thinking there might be a price that is secretly waiting to be paid. I know it’s paranoid of me to think this way and I’m trying to see things in a different manner.

These are the times I hate having read so much social theory and becoming so obsessed with power structures because I’m always thinking that social interaction is a sort of power display. And then, there's always the possibility that being cautious like that is wise.

I feel that right now what I would like the most is to have an immense amount of time for myself to breath, meditate and just be in the moment. I have found that one of the best ways to do this is to go walking without destination. I’ve done it before and it feels like the right time to do it again. What stops me is the fear of cold and hunger you sometimes experience on the streets.

There’s also the fear of that becoming my only solution for when things get hard and never being able to build anything during my time on Earth. I always have the conflict between needing absolute freedom and taking responsibility in the long run for once.

Part of me says: “why do you worry about the long run? You’re run isn’t even a 0.00000001% of Earth’s history. Yours will always be a short run, so be happy and be free NOW”. Another part of me says: “what you do today determines the tomorrow of everything that surrounds you so show some care and be patient”.

A third option is going back to my homeland where there is a patch of land my mother said I could use to live on. I would really love to do that but I hate being surrounded by people who dedicate themselves to live off raising cattle. If I do that it will be like a war where I’ll have to start building fences like crazy and have no money to buy tools for starting the project.

Working doesn’t seem much of an option. I just can’t find any purpose on grinding for the sake of living one more day in the “civilized” life. I’d rather have time to find out what I truly am and what I can really achieve without playing the 9 to 5 game.

My hope would be to keep blogging no matter what I do and stack up on SP without having to power down to pay bills or any of that. Maybe that would be a nice way to eventually achieve financial freedom without playing the 9 to 5 game.

I know I’m being really negative about everything, seeing the bad aspects of all possibilities, but I had to write this to clear my head and also allow myself this vulnerability.

Lately I’ve been just posting news and informative articles but I realize I had been hiding from showing myself in this state of fear and anxiety. Now that I write this I feel some relief and clarity seems to be coming back. I’m starting to feel human again.

There are times one can be very demanding of oneself. You just want to push forward, do everything right and have the best results, but let’s be honest, life would be no fun that way. It’s being able to find your way through the hard times that makes the good ones feel like a real reward.

Well if you read this far, thanks for baring with me and hope you are finding ways to deal with your own difficult moments. If you want to comment on which choice you would choose and why I’d be grateful, perhaps you can provide some insight I haven’t thought of. Till next time!

Sort:  

Now what would Winnie the Pooh doo? ( see my last post for more on that ).

Being a thinker has its pros and its cons, but as soon as it turns into overthinking and worrying... Believe me, I know all about it.

Life isn't easy but it's also as easy ( or hard ) as you make it.

Are you by any chance on discord? Can't find you there. There's loads of awesome people who are always up for advice and sharing their stories with you.

P.S. I don't think your post is negative at all.

P.P.S. I also walked away ( literally and figuratively ) plenty of times, until I settled in a house in Portugal. I still have days of doubt and worries but way less, as I've finally found some stability and something I call my home. My mind is always wandering though but I'm getting better at accepting it, steering it away ( when necessary ) and getting back to the now.

Thanks so much for this comment, it's nice to know others have been through this and improved their ability to handle it. Writing to me is a powerful tool as expressing these feeling alleviates the burden.

You should be able to find me on Discord with the same user name. Are you on the PHC server?

De nada.

Nope, I'm not in the PHC server, never really knew what powerhousecreatives stood for. I expected to find you in the naturalmedicine server, where I like to hang out but couldn't find you there. Feel free to add me on discord: VincentNijman#5870

Can you please send me an invite to the naturalmedicine server? I've never been able to find a link! I'll add you as well 👍

You can find an invite underneath my post from the day before yesterday: Writing, Scifi and Mindful Living, where it says 'Natural Medicine Discord Chat'. To become an official member and benefit from all the goodies, what you need to do is delegate ( 50 SP or more ) to Natural Medicine.

Looking forward to seeing you there!

I'm already a member (delegated 50 SP), just hadn't found a link to the channel haha, thanks!

Haha! Cool :>)

Seems to me that you have at least one good option. But I have the same dilemma at times and the only way out for me is to decide on one thing and go for it.

Yeah, they're all good option but anxiety was getting the best of me. You're right though, just gotta pick one and go for it, indecision is the worst decision..

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 9 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 154 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

you know whatever you choose it is not forever, you can choose one way and if that is not right for you then choose another. Just trust that the universe is working with you. Listen to your heart ad go with whatever feels right for now.
Thanks for sharing, I know it is not always easy, but I have found that writing is one of my biggest healers, getting things out of my head and out into the world, is sometimes all i need in order to get on the right direction as things get so much clearer. But really you must chose if you wish to keep moving or be still for a while xx

You're so right. I think I wrote this with the very purpose of healing. I'll try and stay put until I hand over the house and then decide which path seems the best in the moment. Thank you for reminding me of these simple yet hard to grasp ideas, they just tend to be forgotten but hold the truth of living a good life 🙏

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations @fenngen! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 1500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Hi, @fenngen!

You just got a 0.18% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60841.72
ETH 2603.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56