Two drawings for the price of one [#INKTOBER prompts "swing" and "dragon" ]

in #inktober5 years ago

I am woefully behind in my #inktober -ing, but I have a good excuse. We had company from out of town, which involved adventures and eating and drinking and being merry :)

Dragon

image.png

image.png

Loosely inspired by the Desert Long-Eared Bat (Otonycteris hemprichii), which I recently saw on Planet Earth II killing a Deathstalker Scorpion in mortal combat. I used this still from the Planet Earth II episode as a reference.


This is the first #inktober drawing I have taken the time to add a background. The mountains are a slightly exaggerated version of the mountains I see out my back door every day :)

image.png
Hand holding dragon drawing cover image cross-posted on the Insta using some steemy tags.


Swing

I drew an alien martial artist wearing light armor and swinging a negative-energy mace.

image.png

image.png

Click 'em to embiggen


Proof of Shark

image.png


Carl Does #INKTOBER Previous Entries


3 in 1 "Ring"/"Mindless"/"Bait" - Gulper Eel ouroboros

image.png


"Build" - Alien Rite of Passage

image.png


"Husky" - Goofy Husky

image.png


"Enchanted" - Old Steem

image.png


"Frail" - This all might go up in flames...

image.png


Sort:  

Awesome artwork! Both. I mean all of them! I especially love the dragon guarding the building.

@carlgnash you might have plucked this drawing out of my real life! Here in the Great Smoky Mountains, we are part of a well established pagan community collectively called the Valley of the Dragons. Nestled at the base of a mountain just barely outside the national park and only 5 or 6 miles from the Appalachian Trail, there are over 125 acres owned by multiple people. Each property has its own name, and pretty much every building also has a name! This past weekend we held our annual Samhain Nights gathering on a couple of those properties. One of those properties' main buildings is called Castle Dragonfast. We gathered, danced, drummed, held workshops, feasted, shared in ritual, and much more in the woods and meadow surrounding the castle...and as you might imagine there are quite a few dragons around the area!

Your drawing further caught my eye because in addition to all I have mentioned about my community and the activities of the past weekend, there has been talk over the past couple of years about a long-term art project that will result in a dragon poised much as yours is, with the head resting atop one end of the castle and the body/tail/wings enveloping part of the building itself.

@aurynthenorse and @cassidydawn were also there and impressed with your artwork when I showed it to them this morning!

Thanks for sharing your creativity! If you like, check out my latest post about the sister circle I facilitated during the gather!

Awesome that sounds like a really cool place to live! Yes, I probably astral projected to your Samhain Nights gathering and drew this drawing of Castle Dragonfast :) We are right next to national forest as well, it is about a mile from my house to the mountains and from there nothing but national parks and BLM public lands for a long, long way. I will check out your post now

Hi Carl,

I understand that 'adventures and eating and drinking and being merry :)' soak up your time and possible energy but I'm so glad to see you're back to being creative. This art looks amazing!

Especially the scifi creature stuff. I love it! So cool!

Even the matchstick camel, or whatever it is ( reminds me of those huge Star Wars fighters ) is awesome!

A hug from Portugal!

Luckily I never stop being creative, was creating the whole time but just now getting back to the pen and ink varietal. The matchstick camel is actually an old man, hunched over and holding a matchstick cane :) But I like the huge star wars walker interpretation! Huzzah

That's your view out the back door! You jammy sod!! That's a stunning view and inspiring too, it seems.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah looking at mountains will never get old for me. I grew up around mountains (Haines, Alaska) so living in Utah feels a bit like home for me

Way to ink!!!
I love them all. :)

I ink, therefor I am? ;)

Intriguing illustrations

Impressive artwork! Love the long eared dragon.

Thanks :) If you haven't seen that clip from planet earth it is worth a watch (linked in the text of the post) it is really impressive to see these bats hunting deadly scorpions in the pitch black.

He must either be incredibly hungry, or else he finds scorpions to be wonderfully tasty to go through all of that just to have lunch!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hello @carlgnash, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63252.26
ETH 2662.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79