An Educative Session With @ericvancewalton... Published Author...Entrepreneur....Part Three

in #inkpot7 years ago (edited)

The_inkpot_1


This is the third and Final part of the Inkpot Interview with @ericvancewalton, published Author of the book "Alarm Clock Dawn".

To get the full interview, you can read the First and Second parts respectively.


Records


Ogochukwu: As a writer, what would you choose as your mascot/avatar/spirit animal?

Eric: I’ve never thought of this. I would have to choose a beagle. Our dog, Amstel, is the smartest, funniest, and most loyal companion we could ask for.


Ogochukwu: What does literary success look like to you?

Eric: Freedom.


Ogochukwu: Do you view writing as a kind of spiritual practice?

Eric: Absolutely, the creative process is sacred to me.


Ogochukwu: What’s the most difficult thing about writing characters from the opposite sex?

Eric: It’s not difficult for me.


Ogochukwu: How many hours a day do you write?

Eric: It depends. An hour, on the low end and eight or nine hours if I have the time and the ideas are flowing.


Ogochukwu: Have you read anything that made you think differently about fiction?

Eric: Stephen King’s work, for sure. He’s an absolute genius.


Ogochukwu: How do you select the names of your characters?

Eric: The names have to fit the personality of the characters. Weirdly, 2/3rds of the characters in ACD originally had names beginning with the letter “J”. I had to change the protagonist’s name from “Josh” to “Adam” and it really worked out well.

The name Adam is actually one half of a riddle revealed in the plot twist at the end of the book. I can’t believe how it all came together.


Ogochukwu: In your opinion what is the best way to market a book?

Eric: The best way is to build an audience that’s hungry for your work before you publish the book.


Ogochukwu: What is the most difficult part of your artistic process?

Eric: Finding the quiet time to write. Life is super busy for me these days, I really have to work to carve out time to write anything of length these days.


Ogochukwu: DO you believe in writer's block?

Eric: I believe there is such a thing but it’s easy to overcome. Writer’s block occurs when you overthink. The best way to overcome this is to do something other than trying to write, like going for a walk or a bike ride.

An endless supply of material is locked up in your subconscious mind and you merely need to have quiet time to get back into the “flow state” and have all of those subconscious thoughts released.


This is the completion of @ericvancewalton 's Interview.If there is anything you want to ask him let him know on the comments below.

Click HERE to get my Blockchain Blogger Blog Growth Series with Steemit Dolphins and Whales.

Follow @ogochukwu

Literature Trail Curator

Sort:  

Some interesting opnions to hear indeed. I'm glad you don't consider Writer's Block to be such a big thing as it is sometimes made to appear. I don't believe in it myself. Thank you for sharing!

EVW is a great guy, add that to the list!

LOL, he's a beaut.

Hey @literature-trail, nice post! I'm a new member and only just joined. It would be awesome if you would check out my profile page and click the follow button if you like my stuff. Thanks!

Nice post! I up voted you. Follow me I'll follow you, guys. 100%

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 65292.16
ETH 2651.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85