You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Happens When No One Cares About Wrong-Doings in a Community? Nothing! Exactly!

in #injustice7 years ago

You know what a fact or a truth is? That I can use my flag on your posts if I don't believe that it has value. In fact, I think this "flag-war" drama is BAD for Steemit, and I publish my views on the blockchain by flagging you. Do you think trending posts about community members throwing stones back and forth at each other is an attractive method for retaining potential new users?

I understand that the way the flag is represented this website makes it seem personal when someone uses it against you, but I assure you that is not always the case.

Sort:  

I don't agree. There is a place sure, still flagging has become I'm big so I can do what I want, at least bernie does it and hold no responsibility, blaming a system for his flaws. He's lazy. Lazy and Fat. Fat on cash.

You know what a fact or a truth is?
That I can use my flag on your posts if I don't believe that it has value.

True that, but use your brain, not just your slider(whales seem to forget the gravity here),(it's not a game, people are involved)

In fact, I think this "flag-war" drama is BAD for Steemit, and I publish my views on the blockchain by flagging you.

I agree with that, still it needs to be addressed an I'm not going to flag you :D t perpetuate a cycle of stupidity.

Do you think trending posts about community members throwing stones back and forth at each other is an attractive method for retaining potential new users?

ACTIVITY is down, so far 3k users are active. If we are getting 150 a day, don't you think that having this issue resolved would actually help out.
I agree it's a touchy shit rotten topic to some and the same on the other end for others like you who want to see things improve. Steemit can grow, not with huge holes in the user base and themes getting a endless re-surge.

I understand that the way the flag is represented this website makes it seem personal when someone uses it against you, but I assure you that is not always the case.

This is being said already EVERY time. IT's not personal IT's about the fact that whales are the gatekeepers and get to smack down the aspiring minnows, do you get how many times minnows make it up the trending page.

We need some data actually. This needs a resolution, get some facts going.

I'm going to actually do my best here. Because this IS annoying. AND taking from my time.

If someone is going to abuse their flagging power, that doesn't mean that it still doesn't have a purpose when used correctly. And since Bernie is powering down, isn't it expected that his influence will dwindle as well? Abuse of flagging by those who do not believe in the future of Steem will run its course. That does not mean that there still isn't a purpose for others (I'm not a whale) that wish to show disagreement on rewards.

I know I even think Bernie powering down isn't helping either. Rather than solving the problem he perpetuated it and now hes ok to leave those "" to their devices. I think this has gone on far enough and needs a change. Bernie isn't a problem, but he could have helped. He didn't answer anything. It's past that point I guess. As far as I know there was a disagreement at some point, then bernie started getting the smacks, he' not a bad guy but his growing frustration could have been resolved, it would be best for everyone to stay and solve the problem.

I agree on disagreement on rewards, @smooth already did yesterday, he framed it correctly tho,still it was seen as a huge ATTACK ,everybody outcried for @karenmckersie she posted,
https://steemit.com/steemit/@karenmckersie/im-taking-a-break-from-steemit-downvoted-by-smooth-for-no-reason-warning-to-new-members

Everybody went and said smooth is the next asshole, then we had the ats-david poke since he's the cause of all this :D

It's bullshit, but that doesn't mean we should concern ourselfe with what people are thinking feeling and going through.

This post will get flagged :D expect it :D

The root of this problem is people feeling bad for getting flagged. As @kevinwong put it regarding author rewards, you should not "count your chickens before they hatch." I think one way to mitigate this problem is to remove the reward estimation of the post, or do something more visual to represent it. For instance, the dollar amount could be removed, and replaced by a color spectrum. Some visual indicator that shows a post is "highly valued".

That would make the actual payout of the reward more of a surprise to the author until it happens (unless they used some kind of browser extension to calculate the dollar value again), and people probably wouldn't wince as much if a flag is changing the value of the post.

Yup I've had an instance a while ago when a relatively "experienced" user thought his post was downflagged because the payout amount was reduced slightly, but that's just due to market fluctuations lol. Indeed there are plenty of misconceptions even with the littlest of things

@kevinwong lol I can't reply to your post! Can't wait until HF17 so we can continue threads.

Anyways, I posted an issue on github suggesting a change that may help the psychological well being of users. We should make it less apparent in the UI how much a post is worth until it's paid and final.

https://github.com/steemit/condenser/issues/1212

I think one way to mitigate this problem is to remove the reward estimation of the post, or do something more visual to represent it. For instance, the dollar amount could be removed, and replaced by a color spectrum. Some visual indicator that shows a post is "highly valued".

I raised a ticket for this but forgot that's not the way it works 😅. We need posts on this, with specific ideas and suggestions like this but even more detail, even mock ups, etc.. I'll probably do one, you and @kevinwong should too. 💯


@robrigo, I made the same mistake of raising a GitHub issue, they want it to be fielded on Steemit first, then hopefully picked up on by @sneak. As I said above, organizing between us is the best way for this, feel free to mention me and I'll reshare, etc.

If these posts manage to get on trending, good. Exposure is required. People aren't getting involved and don't want to understand. So keep not understanding, keep not caring about actually looking into the issue to see its about the flagging behavior, no rules, no criteria, just whatever they decide, and targeting original content on morality that they don't like, and keep targeting me. Have fun.

I'm not targeting you as a person (you seem like a decent human being from my vantage point), I'm publishing my dissent on some of your posts that are making a lion's share of the rewards pool.

Which "People"? Who is this straw man you're targeting with your elitist diatribe?

I will have fun. I fucking love this website. And that's why I'm giving you the time of day to tell you why I flagged. If I were you I'd take a step back from Steemit for a few days. Maybe you'll realize that it isn't a very big deal when someone flags you.

A flag are based on a opinionated view, not a collective view. So why does a single downvoter or small group of downvoter get to make that judgment of someone "taking too much from the reward pool."

The whales are the one's that vote and have posts that earn high rewards and has the influence on what gets up on trending. The economics of steemit is you are allowed to do 4 posts a day and anymore, your rewards will decrease.

So if he ended up on the trending page by doing 4 posts a day that's the whale's fault for AUTOVOTING like irresponsible people. What looks bad for the platform is user's can expect to get flagged when having success on the judgment of being overvalued and being a good blogger. A lot of people have their logic ass backwards because I didn't see an entire community flag @krnel's post, just a few whales and whale groupies do the flagging. That doesn't mean his posts were overvalued so why should anyone lose rewards because of this?

Stop trying to put the blame on us and the rest of the community that we're "whining." Whales are taking advantage of the community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66709.93
ETH 3505.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71