Bewildered by Discord

Steemit feels like a pretty free-thinking, freedom-minded community.

That's the whole point of decentralization, isn't it? The whole platform is kept afloat by witnesses who invest their own time and equipment in keeping it running, and it's filled with content by people who have said "no" to the centralized info grab of the big three social media sites: Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

That's why I'm bewildered that so many posters here spend so much time hanging out on Discord.

First of all, I'm confused by the program itself.

It may be that I'm getting old and slow. But I just can't wrap my head around how the different chat rooms and channels work. There's just too much going on! And once you find a place where you might like to have a conversation, it's either dead in the water, or whipping by so fast that you barely have time to be stung by the vitriol that's pouring out of everyone's keyboard.

For me, it's the ultimate manifestation of why I have to get away from my computer most of the time. I don't think I've got any kind of clinical ADD (please don't prescribe any meds...) but it's hard enough to focus on writing something when Facebook is pinging away in another tab, Spotify has moved on to some playlist that just isn't doing it for me, and Youtube is full of a bunch of new stuff to watch.

That's why I've been resorting to this tried and true technology when I want to write these days. It's the only way I can sustain a train of thought for more than five minutes.

Desk.jpg

One of the things I like most about Steemit is the way conversations move along at a comfortable pace, in posts and comments. I can read something thoughtful, mull it over during the day, and sit down to compose a comment when I've got something worthwhile to share. With the rest of the internet - and Discord in particular - I feel like I'm at one of those cocktail parties where I finally have something funny to say about a part of the conversation that happened ten minutes ago.

Secondly, I'm disturbed by what the Discord software does to our computers - and with the fact that nobody seems bothered by this.

Any software that sets itself to launch automatically at startup gets a big "no thanks," from me. Yeah, I know that Spotify does this, and the Steam gaming platform, and lots of other Windows software. (Not in Linux, though.) But in most cases, it's easy enough to disable the auto-launch in the settings.

I can't find a way to disable it with Discord. When The Wife installed it to interact with some of the groups she participates in here, it slowed her computer to a crawl. Booting takes ages now and she has to click through extra pop-ups before she can settle down to get any work done, whether she's connecting to the internet or not.

Even when you close the program, it keeps doing its thing over in the system tray.

This is another big no-no for me - software that doesn't terminate when you click the big "x" in the corner. Stop means STOP, and I shouldn't have to memorize a safe word (or right click a hidden icon) to terminate an unwanted process.

Nope.jpg

According to Spyware Watchdog, who got a big shout out from digital freedom and open-source activist Richard Stallman, Discord represents some of the worst spyware people are runnning on their PCs today. And because the source code isn't available, we have no way of knowing the full extent of what it does.

Discord is spyware because it collects all information that passes through its communication platform. As Discord is a centralized communication platform, all communications have to go through Discord's official servers, where all of that information can potentially be recorded. The vast majority of said information has been confirmed to be recorded, such as all communications between users. Discord has also been confirmed to use other spyware features such as various forms of telemetry. Discord's main source of income is from investment, from which it has received over $279.3 million dollars[4]. Discord cannot be built from source and the source code for Discord is unavailable.

"Discord is a centralized communication platform."

Seems diametrically opposed to Steemit's philosophy, doesn't it?

When you "close" Discord, and it sneaks down to your system tray - just what is it doing, tucked away down there in the background? Probably the same thing it's doing while you use it to text, voice, and video chat: collecting and sharing who-knows-what with its corporate paymasters. And those investors, whoever they are.

We do know this: Discord keeps "logs of all of the other programs that are open on your computer."

Again, from Spyware Watchdog:

Discord can also tell which devices you use, as it uniquely identifies each device, and how much you use those devices, as it can record your device usage habits (since Discord is usually open in the background so that it can receive messages). Discord also records every single interaction you have with other users through its service.


I don't mean to rain on anyone's parade here, or judge, or complain.

Mostly, as I said, I'm bewildered.

And it makes me curious. In a community obsessed with decentralized content, freedom of expression, individual rights and responsibilities, and good old fashioned stick-it-to-the-man rowdy behavior, why do so many Steemians use Discord to chat and interact?

I've certainly heard lots of people on here crapping on the big three social media platforms, for good reason. But if you read Discord's terms of service document, it's clear their communications grab is just as sweeping.

Doesn't it bother anyone else that the meaning of the word discord is "disagreement between people," or "lack of agreement or harmony between things"? Or it's a musical term indicating unpleasantness, "a chord which (in conventional harmonic terms) is regarded as unpleasing or requiring resolution by another."

Resolution by another.

Who is that going to be?


Do you use Discord?

I'd love to hear about your experience in the comments. Do you feel it brings value to your experience on Steemit? Do you use it for gaming or communicating with people in other communities? Does it impact your computer's function?

Should I take off my tinfoil hat and hang out with y'all over there?


AtopyCamera.png

DividerBorder.jpg


Unless otherwise stated, photography is the work of the author. Feel free to copy, remix and share photographs from this post according to the terms of a Creative Commons Attribution Sharealike 4.0 International license.

Camera divider and signature illustration by @atopy.

If you'd like to read more, you can check out a categorized catalog of my posts on Steemit here.

AtopySignature.png

Sort:  

I am glad to hear that I am not the only one who is bewildered by all the Discord channels. I tried establishing contact on Discord a couple of times. It didn't work out the way I thought it would be. So I gave up.

Lovely view from the window. I would be too distracted to do anything. Cheers!

I didn't use Discord for my first year on Steemit and then finally caved, because it was the only way to really connect with some people/groups. However, I mostly use it as a PM service and don't hang out in the chats. It annoys me that certain chats that I HAVE MUTED because I don't want constant notifications still send me notifications and I can't figure out why. I know sometimes it's because some arsehole types @everyone, but not always.
Checky is probably going to ...oh, no, there's an empty everyone account on Steemit. LOL
I know for a fact that they listen to voice convos on Discord because twice I've had one with Ceci and gotten Facebook ads for things we talked about. With voice. Not text.
It is creepy af.
But since it's how I can keep in contact with her and a few others, there it sits on my puter.
If you're not already in it, I'd steer clear, perhaps.
Edited to add: there's an app called Kik that is connected to Kin, the blockchain project, so I'm not certain if Kik chat is decentralized or not, but I have that program too and I like it, it's just that only two other friends are on it.

Thanks. I'll probably steer clear of chat programs entirely as I just don't know how I could have time for them. It's for the same reason that I never built that computer I've been saving for for years. What am I going to do with a faster computer? Play video games? When?

That's really creepy about the voice recognition. I guess it's pretty trivial now for computers to parse speech into text and analyze it. But good lord. Even the Stasi had to make someone sit down and listen to the tapes if they wanted to know what people were saying.

I really really dislike Discord, mainly for the same reasons you pointed out in the beginning of your post, it’s just too much. I already have my hands full with Steemit, and I want to read comments on my own accord, not because a red bubble tells me I’m missing out on something. Which I’m obviously not but it’s annoying as hell.

I am relieved to read this post and hear of your problems with discord because I have struggled with it from Day 1. And I've also had a ton of problems with my internet so maybe I now have stumbled across the reason for my slow internet. It is just so frustrating! Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts with us @winstonalden I found them very helpful indeed Resteemed.

Glad to be of service! I'd be curious to know if things speed up once you uninstall it. (Of course if you have to use it to keep in touch with certain communities, you can always log in through the browser.)

Happy to report that I've noticed a lot of improvement with my computer. I'm so glad I discovered your post. Thanks again and have an awesome day! 🌼

I had it on my phone for a while, never really got the swing of it, and getting pinged @everyone at three a.m.... delete!

Glad to know I'm not the only one avoiding it!

I'm surprised to learn all these things about discord. I had no idea.

I use it sporadically. I'm in a few groups but I usually don't contribute to the discussions. I spend too much time online anyway so I avoid any chat rooms and places where you spend even more time. I do use it for private discussions that I don't want everyone to see on Steemit - this was actually the reason why I installed it in the first place.

Thank you for sharing this information. I've been thinking about stopping using it for a while already so this might be another trigger to finally take that step.

Have a nice day!

Yeah, it's the fact that it feels private while actually being one of the least private places you can be that makes it so creepy.

But a lot of online life is like that now, isn't it?

That's why I started using it too! I wanted private conversations. Very disturbed to learn it's not so private after all...

I completely agree. I joined a group there that wasn't enormous, but even so I felt so over-stimulated by the constant stream of discussion. It seemed impossible to keep up. As a result I haven't been on there in ages. Yep, and the auto start part of it is really annoying.

There is a character called Discord on a show my kids watch. It is a freaky looking dragon-ish creature that is always trouble. I think maybe this Discord should adopt him as mascot.

This was an entertaining read. And helpful - I didn't know about the spying stuff, but I guess I should have guessed.

Hey, @winstonwalden.

Thanks for this. I primarily use Discord for GINAbot, so it's notifying me of different things. I've tried to get information from someone in a chat room for basic things and no one ever answers. I don't know if people just don't see it because it does fly by pretty fast, or if it's because no one knows who I am, or what it is.

I also don't use the desktop app, but go in through the browser. At least it doesn't automatically come on when I boot up my computer.

Like you, I've not found the reason to hang out there, even though I've been told that's where it's at if you want to get anywhere on STEEM. Which makes no sense. I suppose there are direct message conversations going on that no one wants on the blockchain, but it's funny how those end up coming back to haunt folks when they end up being copy and pasted or a screenshot image of the conversation put into a post.

I'd just as soon everything happened on chain myself. It would be great if there were some kind of chat for STEEM. There's been one, but I don't know if it's up and running still or not.

Yeah, I thought about trying Ginabot once - but now that I installed Partiko on my phone it's pretty good notifying me anytime I get a vote or comment - so that's enough.

I guess there is still a Steem chat in the hamburger menu on the upper right - I'll have to check it out and see if it's still working.

I've done well enough on Steem without discord, so I wouldn't worry too much about missing out.

Yep, use discord but only on the computer and not on any of my mobile. Apparently it can get annoying on the hand held gadgets...

I do find the notifications annoying, but other than that, it's a useful chatting program and it doesnt slow my computer down at all. Thankfully!

The trick is to find the right communities to participate it and stay away from the larger places cuz those are like being in a giant mall with thousands of strangers around you...

But if you can find your places, it is a nice place to hang out and talk and really get to know people :)

I use it to chat with one or two people. Privately, although apparently not as privately as I thought :/
It's not surprising, because most of these non-spying, non-tracking "alternatives" you find here on Steem sound too good to believe and usually are. Frankly, I'm disappointed by this...But also, they've got you by the balls, sort of...what other app/program can you use to chat that isn't intrusive?

As for slowing down the computer, I don't know. My old one was pretty...well, old, but the Discord sure didn't help and the fact it booted up automatically pissed me off something awful, so I can relate. I also didn't like that I'd be watching a movie and all of a sudden, it would start pinging in new messages even though it was supposed to be closed....So, you're not alone. And I don't think it's a tin foil hat thing, either. :)

As for your writing spot....you lucky, lucky bastard. I'd love to have that view.

I know it. This place really is a treasure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30