You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Food for thought: The common household ingredient that scientists claim is WORSE for you than sugar.

IMG_2182.PNG

https://www.fertstert.org/article/S0015-0282(10)00368-7/abstract?code=fns-site

How about the logical fallacy of being concerned about weak plant estrogen when meat and dairy contain 2-3 times the amount of mammalian estrogen.

IMG_2184.PNG - https://news.harvard.edu/gazette/story/2006/12/hormones-in-milk-can-be-dangerous/

Not to mention the animal waste from farms ends up putting estrogen hormone disrupters into our water systems

IMG_2186.PNG

IMG_2187.PNG

Factor in xenoestrogens from food packages, bottles, containers. Medications such as birth control pills is peed out and goes into our water, atrazine and other fertilizers in the water.

There's many many things that play a role but it ain't soybeans, especially when you consider all the other plant foods that contain phytoestrogen and nobody is freaking out about them. Probably because they don't pose as much of a threat to the meat and dairy and egg lobbies huh?

Now for a bit of anecdotal evidence: I eat 2 - 4 servings of organic/non-gmo soy a day for about year now. I did this because A. I did my research on soy and discovered that there were a lot of fear-mongering and myths being spread by these lobby groups. B. I wanted to prove it for myself and it hasn't changed anything about me. My body is the same and fertility and all that is good to go. Dude, soy is a superfood, 2x the protein than that of pork, calcium, iron, fiber. Low cholesterol and super versatile. So fuck yeah soy! lol.

Not sure what these so called 'soy boys' actually eat, but I really doubt that much of it is soy and any soy they might consume would likely be the non-organic, gmo processed ingredient in junk food. but still non a threat for estrogen. It's likely a combination of the other estrogen sources I mentioned plus the brainwashing from television and the indoctrination from the school system.

Sort:  

I'm not really buying your argument here that meat is worse than soy. I did a simple google search of estrogen in meat vs soy and found these charts.

Phytoestrogen is not like mammalian estrogen. Animal products contain both much less phytoestrogen and lots of mammalian estrogen .

That bottom chart is misleading. They are measuring two completely different types of things there.

Aren't 'simple' Google great?

https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/abs/10.1111/j.1442-200X.2009.02890.x

You also say soy beans are nothing to worry about when it comes to Phytoestrogen.

There's many many things that play a role but it ain't soybeans, especially when you consider all the other plant foods that contain phytoestrogen

The charts show soy is very high in Phytoestrogen.

This study says Phytoestrogen lowers sperm count.

https://blogs.scientificamerican.com/news-blog/soy-vey-does-eating-tofu-lower-sper-2008-07-23/

Not the best study since it's only 99 men but better than the 18 people in your study :)

Soy sure does seem like it has a bunch of problems/controversy around it compared to other vegetables.

Like I said before for every study you find claiming it's good I can find one claiming it's bad. So it's debatable who's right.

Who knows we both could be right.

Most modern soy food from soy milk to soy burgers are processed, which means they contain natural toxins called “antinutrients”. Learn what these antinutrients can do to your health and how much danger they pose. Learn why traditional, fermented soy disposes of these natural toxins to make for “healthy soy”.

https://www.mercola.com/Downloads/bonus/dangers-of-soy/report.aspx

Yes soy is second only to flaxseed for phytoestrogen which is a weak plant estrogen. It's like comparing tier B to the tier A estrogens from mammals. Doesn't make any sense to me.

So you stayed with scientific American and just clicked over from your last article to a tiny blurb about a study but the link only sends me to a blank PDF

Yes, there is definitely a lot of that, but you only have to look into who funding the study. The meat/dairy/egg lobbies have to smear soy the most because of the competition it offers. They are fine with it as their animal feed and as a cheap ingredient in processed foods only.

But, like I said, to prove it to myself I eat between 2-4 servings of soy a day for 1 year now. Nothing has changed, like zip, zero, zilch. I'm obviously not going to fuck myself up, if I notice something odd, I will definitely let everyone know. You can hold me to that.

I wrote a piece early on in my steemit adventure about antinutrients misconception.

https://steemit.com/heath/@venomnymous/the-antinutrient-misconception
I packed a lot of studies in that piece.

I wouldn't put any trust in mercola, he shills a lot and pushed a lot of bullshit and misinformation in that article.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59112.75
ETH 2519.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47