You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Electric Vehicle batteries are beginning to show up in off grid fixed power systems.

in #informationwar5 years ago (edited)

Always good to find another person infected with off grid fever, ROFLOL! Glad I could help.

I am also recovering cell from old lap top packs for recycle prices, I have 8KW so far, and they sell Battery Management Systems (BMS) for a 24 volt stack on Ebay for $6. So I am going to build part of my power storage from the cells that test good.

Here is my latest batch of salvaged good cells:
20180322_124250.jpg

:)>

Sort:  

That's awesome! I just switched over to 24v from 12v. What kind of wind power are you running? I've been looking into it for a while but reviews aren't great. I'm surrounded by open farm fields and get some decent wind.

Not running yet, sorry. I am an Engineer, working from the specs, and reviews.

Most bad reviews are because people do not understand that wind power is wind dependent. This is a 1700 watt rated wind generator, but with my average wind speed at the new land, it will make about 500 watts. People trash talk a wind generator, because they expect 1700 watts...all the time. These guys up in Mo understand high performance wind generators, and make their own generators to avoid cogging problems. Here is the one I will buy:

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Missouri-Rebel-Freedom-24-volt-1700-watts-max-5-blade-wind-turbine-generator/291189976502?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&_trksid=p2060353.m1438.l2649

On a wind generator, there must be a brake, or a dump load to use if the batteries are fully charged. Otherwise, the unloaded wind generator can over volt, and damage the generator and charger. This is true of all wind generators, but it is not a large problem. Just be sure that the dump load will absorb the full output for high wind conditions.

24 Volts is the best mix of wire size battery power, and cost of electronics. You have made a good choice. I plan to run my LED lighting, and ceiling fans directly from the batteries. I will run 24 volt DC to every room, using the old AC ducts as a wiring race. I am building the lights, and their dimmers from components.

The inverter power wall will feed to existing breaker panel, and will be battery fed from under the house, in the crawl space. Repairing and insulating the house right now, I will be posting as I go.

Here is a way to reuse your old 12 volt power sources on a 24 volt battery.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/332302608742

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60752.38
ETH 2453.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63