You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It Couldn't Happen Here: A Government In Name Only

All the more reason to become preppers. Not that we'll become full blown preppers but there are times when bunkers and years worth of supplies starts looking like a good idea. Hang onto your guns!!

Sort:  

We've been prepping for years now... We've got 5 huge boxes of "prep-food" plus water, a pantry full of canned goods, a generator... I've been stocking silver for years (I buried about 40 lbs) I'm building on my reserves. I want another 10 lbs- got about 3 of those. And we live in an arsenal. I figure that cryptos will be the cash of the future, but if the grid goes down it will be wise to have something to trade. Also have plenty of seeds.

Generator and extra fuel, check! Food and water is what I intend to work on this summer now that I've figured out the pressure canner. I've read that some folks can water for long term storage in whatever Mason jars they aren't using for food and I'm going to try it out. Water is kind of our Achilles heel in a disaster scenario...wondering now if we could eventually hook up the well pump to solar. It sucks losing water pressure whenever the power goes out. I like the point about having extra seeds...I can easily get extras this spring and I intend to make a point of growing heirloom varieties so I can collect seeds myself from now on. And if it was up to the Husband we'd live in an arsenal!

Heirloom are good (no GMO's). Be careful with fuel- it goes bad. What I do for water is save milk jugs and fill them up. You might also look into freeze drying if you grow a garden. When I was in MI back when I was married I had about 1 acre garden. We sold and canned lots of veggies. I wanted to teach my kids (they hated it), but now they're prepared!

and solar.
Solar panels have a life time exceeding my life expectancy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59281.33
ETH 2982.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74