You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 80% Light 20% Fight

in #informationwar5 years ago (edited)

Unschooling Screenshot at 2019-01-24 13:03:40.png

Unschooling vs. Homeschooling?

01:07 PM PST LMS JA - Thursday - 2019-01-24 - January 24th - Do Kids Need School? Inside the 'Unschooling' Movement - Reason TV - in this video, they talked about how public education has been making people stupid, generally speaking, for decades, especially after the 1960's in the USA, specifically. Homeschool and Unschool are not both the same thing, specifically speaking. Generally, they are both not public schooling. I was homeschooled in Oregon where I was born in 1985. My mom homeschooled me and my 3 siblings in the 80's and 90's. There are many reasons why people should go to homeschool or alternative schools. On top of that, there are also reason why people and especially kids should NOT go to to public schools and maybe even colleges. I was an English Teacher in Vietnam for 5 years from 2012-2017 and have seen similar trends and problems related to education, to these things, in Vietnam as well. I am pushing myself to try make more videos and articles and memes and many different things related to these topics, these things, to let people know more about pros and cons and everything concerning these matters. You can join in the fun if you are interested. I was happy to see this video. I was first scared to watch the video because I already KNOW that I like homeschool. So, I was asking myself why I would watch a video if I already know the ending. Well, maybe I didn't know the ending or maybe it was still fun to watch and worth the journey and the details are very interesting. I am thinking of trying to work at an alternative school as a teacher or something.

Adaptive Oatmeal

Regardless of whether kids go to school or not, they are learning all the time. You can invest more time into kids, no matter who you are, generally speaking, regardless of whether the kids attend public schools or not. Different kids learn at different speeds, levels, in different ways. Kids grow up to become different people, adults. So, they should be encouraged towards self-discovery and self-teaching and self-motivation and everything. They should be trained towards vocational studies, apprenticeships, gradually, slowly, more and more as they get older, according to their potential careers, things that they are interested in. It is tough to always make kids learn isolated subjects like math for example. It is better to learn many subjects in the context of real-life goals, jobs, tasks, desires, careers, problems, situations, etc. When kids get older, yeah, some can compartmentalize more and more to study a specific isolated topic like math that lacks real-life problems or history without application or science without observation, etc, etc.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66014.01
ETH 3472.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68