A thought for HF20 Resource Credits

See latest update here

This is a primary concern for our group as well. Many of the people who participate in our #informationwar group are under 100 SP, brand new people obviously having the default amount upon account creation.

The best way for people to get more followers and interact with people is to make dozens of comments daily on posts they find interesting. We will see a hampering of growth in tota new accounts are not abl to make many comments daily. Reddit for example, you might make 30 to 40 comments there daily pretty easily, theres so many subreddits you can follow and so many things to comment on. Steem is growing and this will be the case here as well. When users find they can't make a reasonable amount of comments they will likely not want to be here.

Are we going to have the ability to sell our excess Resource Credits and or loan excess Resource Credits? As was stated, people with a few thousand SP can basically make hundreds of comments per day and likely never will use all of their bandwidth(resource credits).

I would really like the ability for the InformationWar account to be able to give out our excess Resource Credits, and or have an option that delegates a % of our Resource Credits out to someone else.

A few ways I think it could work, first one being that you do the same as Steemauto upvoting services do it. Give us the ability to set a threshhold/limit to how much % the IW account can give out in a day. So if we have 10 people signed up under us, and we allocated in total 10% of our resource credits out, and we allow each user to only take one full percentage point per day. Very similar to how you setup curation trail upvote following on Steem auto, preset limits based in %.

Or give us the option to give someone the Resource Credit itself, so we could transfer it like we transfer Steem or SBD from account to account. I realize this can accutually cause a different issue if allowed, because if whales stock up on excess credits they could technically use all resource credits at once and crash the system. So imagine a whale with 1 million SP, who continually transfers resource credits to another name everyday, eventually that other name has days worth of resource credits, and if all used at the same time could overload the system. To get away from that happening something like a Resource Credit decay would need to happen, but it would only decay for people who received the credits from someone else, so it would need a special property attached to it(some sort of smart contract that says these expire within 5 days and go to 0).

There should be so much excess Resource Credits that whales will be fighting eachother for who can price it lower, so the price of such a thing shouldn't be very high.

I welcome all criticism/feedback to this suggestion of course.

Thanks, @truthforce

Sort:  

I support the idea of loaning out resource credits, just as @steem delegated SP to new users. It make's sense to if new accounts are interacting and engaging with steemit. The Hardfork is still fresh in all our minds so it is a good time to get engagement and put out proposals.
It also doesn't hurt to shop around on platforms as infowars did lose a lot of social media ground it may help to diversify and find other locations
https://alpha.narrative.org/wait-list?r=Y9PyvHnNS

I think the objective of the RC and the HF20 was precisely to annoy the minnows. Put a lot of restrictions on the minnows so that they can not get anything out of the platform without investing. At least that's my first impression.

If I'm right, then I can't say more that this was a big mistake.

yup, that would be a social media suicide

We will do what we can to help out the IW minnows :) still monitoring situation and once we see how it all shakes out we will put out a plan to help(if it is necessary)

I agree, and to the Steemit Development team I say this:
"Congratulations! You have transformed Steemit into a reincarnation of ancient-and-long-forgotten Livejournal, except that this knock-off version requires a substantial financial investment to use while the original was free!"

Delegating Steem does delegate RCs, so I reckon that's the workaround presently available. Good idea, as I have long advocated delegations, generally for the purpose of retaining users.

Thanks!

I'm practically afraid to do anything on Steemit anymore and I have over 3500 SP! I'm blogging on WeKu now and a lot of other Steemians are there too. You should check it out!

https://deals.weku.io/pick_account?referral=richq11

Interesting @richq11 I will sign up for this as it seems to be running already and looks like it is worth testing out thanks for the note he-he and done :)

I am one of those people that only comments when I feel inspired to comment. I love this platform, and I understand change is necessary...I just get a little frustrated that quality posts get unnoticed. I am sure that weeding out the spam (who was that guy going around and downvoting everything? Hopefully he's gone.) is going to be less of a problem right now, which is great. I am not a techie, so I will try to glean as much as I can about this HF20 and what is to come in the future.

Thanks @informationwar

My feeling exactly

@eskmcdonnell I cannot find any posts by you on your page, just resteems from others. I would love to follow you but I need to see what kind person you are. Do you mind posting below a link to either your "introduce yourself" post or another post that you would like to showcase?

Thank you and have a great day!

I posted in Spring. I've been busy traveling. Hence the late reply. I mainly read posts. I occasionally comment. (My last post was months ago.)

Sadly the link didn't work for me. :-(

RC is based on steem power so AFAIK the only way to delegate RC is to delegate steem.

From what I understand that is currently how it works. But the problem I see with that is, if we started delegating all of our SP away to other people then we are unable to upvote people. We curate posts in the #informationwar tag and upvote them, delegating away more of our SP to others reduces how much we can reward everyone with votes on their content. But giving away resource credits does not have that problem.

I upvoted your post.

Cheers to you.
@Pinoy

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

So longer I think about it so more I come to the conclusion that HF20 is a disaster . My voting voting power has still not recovered.

Why the hell did they not do a clean restart where everybody starts at 100% Mana and RC?

It looks like they fixed it, I am going to log in with my account with 3 SP to see how it works.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85