Water and Stone - [Information Finding Championship - Season 1 : Round 20 entry]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #informationfinding6 years ago (edited)

We are travelling when word of the quest reaches us. "Find and share a place of power, eh, @apolymask ? Of course, I know of such a place." A place where water meets stone, where unstoppable motion meets immovable structure. Where humans can draw power from their meeting.

I consider going out alone. I'll admit, I am reluctant to include my family in my quest. But who would gather the necessary artifact, if I go alone? Decision made, I inform my family. We set out at low tide.

beach rocks 2.jpg

Florida is not known for its rocks. The structures here are ancient shells, built up over millennia of standing together, a bulwark against the tide (or, more accurately, living quietly under the waves, dying, and THEN building up a bulwark against the tides).

beach rocks 1.jpg

The artifact is obtained. The boy child begins to feel the power of the ocean. He strikes a power pose atop the rocks. Then we return to shelter.

child power pose.jpg
WATCH: The Child's Power Pose

Alas! On our return to safey, I realize I have neglected an important artifact! How, in the days of AI, can we prove our human presence in this place? We decide to return the next day.

The tide has risen; the moon is swelling toward full power. Will we be able to obtain the artifact? Twice I draw the inscription, and twice the ocean washes it away. I yield my position, and draw the inscription higher up the dune. Artifact obtained!
In our haste, we neglected to record the date. In this place, it is always Today.

beach rocks ifc.jpg

The ocean is gaining strength; it is time to go. One can only draw so much power from a place like this, and the wise will leave the ocean and the stone to their epic struggle, lest we be drawn in to a power far greater than ourselves.
We retreat to safety, warmth and shelter.

ocean power.jpg
WATCH: The Ocean's Power Pose

Thank you, @ifc for this contest. I hope you enjoyed reading!
If you know a place of power, you too may join the quest.
P.S. Our Power Spot is located on Hutchinson Island, in Southeast Florida.

Sort:  

You have my vote @wholeself-in . Isak Dinesen said the quote about salt water.

Thank you! It's one a lot of my family members like to repeat.

Thats awesome. I absolutely love the ocean and just being around it. Especially around sunset and at night or early in the morning for a run. Unfortunately in Canada I live a 13 hour drive from the ocean I love going on vacations in all the corners of the earth and visiting the marvellous teachers and great oceans! Awesome entry @wholeself-in!!

"The cure for everything is salt water: sweating, tears, or the ocean." -- Someone Wise (I forget who)

I love the ocean and go to daytona beach a lot. There are no rocks like that there though.

I don't see it much either, that's why I love this spot. I believe coquina rock makes up the bones of most of our coastline, but it's usually under water or sand. This place is a barrier island that lives up to that title. It has a sandy beach, but it's steep compared to Daytona. The south end of the island is where the rocks are.

Thanks. Maybe I'll check it out one day.

I think all of the entries were great power spots. It was difficult to pick, the reason I picked yours and voted for you was less the spot itself even though I love the ocean, but in the end more the adventure you shared with us.

I love the way you role played and also that you brought your lil ones along and included them. The picture of the IFC written into the beach is awesome.

Would it be okay if I use that picture in the future? I think it sort of encapsulates a really important aspect of this whole contest.. The fact that this game is helping get people outside into nature more and spend time with their family is amazing and just what we need I think to help pull people away from their screens a lil more and back into the real world more. :)

And on some level we still have to use these screens to play the game, BUT.. I think the more time we spend out in nature the better! So To have a game that helps get us outside is awesome and I think this picture of your lil ones on the beach with the IFC written in the sand is super cool!

Either way, thanks for the awesome entry and for sharing such a great adventure with us! :)

Thank you, and yes you may feel free to use the picture!
I love quests that challenge me to go out and engage with nature or my community. Would be nice to make it a recurring theme!

Awesome! Thanks. :) I think that picture is like an important part of IFC history and it really made me look at the whole contest with even fresher and newer eyes than before. I really hope to do more challenges like that more regularly! We heard so many comments from people who had fun on that one and the scavenger hunt challenge kryptocek did. And we've been talking about making a bonus challenge for every round that involves going out and filming something. But.. We need more cohesion between the judges first I think.. But I do wanna do that. And also just in case you're interested we just did another round that is similar but you can film anything you want to this time. If you want to check it out here's the link!

https://steemit.com/contest/@ifc/information-finding-championship-season-1-round-25-catch-up-round

Cheers and thanks again for letting us use the image and for being an awesome player in the game in general! :)

I wish my connection was a bit better, could not watch the vid's. Some days I can some days I can't, no rhyme or reason for it. It looked like a great day at the beach, and most amazing it looked empty.

That was my first time working with dtube. It works fine on this end, but I couldn't figure out how to make the image be the link, so I just linked in the caption.

This is by far one of my favorite entries so far in the whole contest. :)
I loved how you role played and brought some lil ones in on the adventure, and.. The creativity by doing the IFC in the sand.. Brilliant! Well done! It made me a lil emotional. Thank you so much for such an awesome entry! I can't guarantee my vote, and there's still time for someone else to somehow miraculously get something better, but.. I really doubt it.. And I am most likely going to be voting for you this round. Wonderful job! I loved your power spot and your presentation of it! :D

Thanks! I'm blushing (or maybe it's sunburn)!

Great job on the post especially with the adventure you brought upon us you have my vote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59139.97
ETH 2676.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44