Me, Myself and a Stranger

in #indiaunited5 years ago

Namaste Everyone,

I hope you all are in good health and enjoying the harsh weather that Mother earth is dishing out. (Wow!!! I wrote something after a long time and still comes out as negative. Moving on...). So you guys missed me. Of course you did. I am doing good. Thanks for asking. And that was the main reason I was away from steemit.

Lots have changed since my last visit to steemit. (I am talking about my personal life.) I quit my job. Moved to a different city. Liking the new job. Planning the future. And hoping to find some peace and answers as I level up my mental strength. Ah!!! enough about me and where I been. Its story time.

Before I proceed further let me make it clear that this is purely a work of fiction I walked back to my room alone. :-)

"Ok, Chalo baad mein call karta hun. Abhi dinner karne jaana hai" [Alright, Will call later, Its time for dinner] I pressed the red button on the android device and got up to get the keys. It has been almost a month since I moved to the new city. So many things to explore, that being the reason from my excitement.

I locked the door and the walked out the building gate. Gave a smile to the guard and started walking towards the regular place to try something new. 'Oye!! change something yaar. Why are you slipping back to the regular routine. I know in the name of something new, you are going to order something you already had.' I left the restaurant without ordering anything. I started walking down the street towards unexpected encounter.

After walking a good 3Kms I was at place where I never set foot before. I parked my ass on the bench at the sidewalk. It was getting dark. I should have ordered from the old place. Immediately a response came. 'What the hell you talking about?'. Good to know that the voices in my head were still following. I sighed and decided to sit on the bench before I start looking for a restaurant. I was reviewing my day. A habit which I recently made actually an advice from a good friend. And honestly speaking it works most of the time, except that day. I needed motivation. I felt a wet sensation on my right cheek. 'Huh, Am I crying in public?'. I checked it was a raindrop. And before I could finish the second thought I was motivated enough to get of the ass and run towards a shed nearby. The rain lasted for a couple of minute, enough to wash away the dirt from the road and the unused cars parked nearby.

Somehow I made it to a food joint. It was a small place with 3 table, 2 occupied. The cashier smiled and handed me the menu. One glance on the items and I realized that I stepped in a veg restaurant. 'Great!!'. No that wasn't the sarcastic voice in my head, that was me. The cashier was back, with a notepad. He is now playing the role of the waiter. "Just gimme a minute." I told the waiter while considering the option of getting up and walking away. "Ok, Ek special Cheese Pav Bhaji, dena" [Ok, One special Cheese Pav Bhaji] I placed the order. The waiter smiled and went to kitchen. I was wondering If he is the same person who is going to cook the dish. A minute passed, I was still pointlessly going through the menu again. The couple in the table next to me were giggling on something.

"Sir, adha ghanta legega" [Sir, It will take half an hour] the waiter informed me. The option of switching the restaurant was back on the table. Before I could finish my thought process, I heard my voice. "No problem". Ok, looks like I decided to stay for Pav Bhaji. And I laid the menu on the table and stretch my arms wide. And tried to get comfortable. I pulled out the mobile and checked the Time. It was 08:30 pm. 'Hmmm, add 30mins to it 9PM, anyway it will take a good 20mins to finish the dinner. so almost an hour in this place.' I kept the mobile on the table and started waiting. I couldn't resist and grabbed my phone and started browsing the IPL scores. I wanted to hear music but I forgot my earphone back in my room.

I felt a presence at the table, thats when I saw her. I didn't notice when she entered or sat opposite to me. She place her order without looking at the menu. "**Ek chicken Manchurian Frankie". **

'Hmm, This could be interesting'. I thought to myself.

"Sorry Madam, Veg only." The waiter slash cashier responded.

"Oh!!" she had the same expression, that I probably had a couple of minute back on her. Probably deciding to stick around or walking off. "Theek Hai" [Ok then] she decided to stick around. "Hmmmm" She was humming while going through the menu. The longest hum I ever heard. "Accha!!" she addressed waiter who was waiting for the order. "Ek Pav Bhaji lana.. Wait wait.. make it Cheese Special Pav Bhaji." She sealed the order with a beautiful smile, while fixing her glasses. The waiter acknowledged the smile and went towards the kitchen. The couple in next table were done and walked past us towards the counter to clear the bill. I wondered how much time he had to wait. The waiter came out of the kitchen and walked straight to the counter to collect.

"Its probably gonna take 30mins" I thought to myself, or atleast I thought I was talking to myself.

"Huh!! What?" she asked with a little puzzled look on her face.

"Sorry!! I think your order will take 30mins" I spoke after clearing my throat.

"Haha, How can you be so sure?" She replied.

"Well he said the same thing to me. I also ordered the same thing" I replied and then started cringing mentally on how weird and creepy thing it is to keep a track of a strangers order.

"Oh!!!" She replied perhaps she was busy cringing mentally too. "Well lets hear it from a good source." she said after a pause.

I deserved that. The best thing is to keep quiet, I concluded. "Kitna time lagega?" [How much time will it take?] she asked the waiter who was on the way to kitchen. "Ek minute Madam, abhi check karta hun." The waiter went inside and started shouting in native language. All I understood was two words 'Customer' and 'waiting'.

The waiter was back. "20mins lagenge Madam" he sounded apologetic.

"Ok" She decided to wait. And looked at me.

"Well, he told me 30mins about 10mins ago, so technically I am right." I replied.

She chuckled.

'OK, Now lets have conversation like normal people'. The voice intervene my thoughts.

I am inuke.. and I know this post is filled with spelling and grammatical mistakes.. let me fix it in the next episode..

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Your realism, storytelling skills and humor easily make up for the imperfect spelling and grammar. And what's wrong with imperfection besides it not being perfect? ;>)

This post has been rewarded with 100% upvote from @indiaunited Community account. We are happy to have you as one of the valuable member of the community.

If you would like to delegate to @IndiaUnited you can do so by clicking on the following links: 5SP, 10SP, 15SP, 20SP 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

As usual ur writing is superb 👍
Keep it up :-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Another yummy story. Waiting to read the next part.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64448.82
ETH 2646.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77