Are Birthdays Over-rated?

in #india5 years ago (edited)


What if Facebook doesn't remind you friends' b'days?


Birthdays are a special day for eveyone. Everyone like to be wished on their special day from their dear ones and feels neglected or angry if his / her dear one forgets to wish.

So, many tools were invented to remind you for birthdays of people in your social circle. Some of my friends maintain a huge email database and send those people a b'day wish through emails everyday, if it's their birthday. These days, Facebook is playing an important role in reminding or informing about birthdays of all our friends.

Yesterday, I stumbled upon an interesting conversation where a friend wondered how people used to remember birthdays of others before the Facebook era.

It's true, technology has made us very dependent over it. I vividly recollect that before the advent of mobile phones, I used to easily remember over hundred phone numbers. And it wasn't always my mind, as many times I couldn't recall a number if someone asked me but when I dialed it on phone, I could do that. Perhaps even my fingers remembered the numbers in those days. But today, I don't even remember my own phone number! Same has happened with my various passwords after I started using password managers.

But regarding birthdays, do you wish birthdays after Facebook reminds you? Personally, I don't. In fact, I don't wish birthdays to most of my friends; and to the ones I wish, I don't do that every year. I normally wish b'days to those whose b'days I naturally recollect without any effort.

Facebook reminds me several people's b'days every day. I don't make any effort to wish them all. For one, I think Facebook friends are anyway going to receive many b'day wishes and I think I'm reducing their clutter by not wishing them any. Some friends have taken down their b'day from their FB profile. Although I can still remember for some of them; I don't wish them as I know the possible reason of making a b'day private is they don't want so many wishes.

Once I too had my b'day on FB publicly viewable and received a number of wishes. So much so that I had to take help from a tool to send them an automated reply for thanking them.

Culture of celebrating b'days


This makes me wonder why do we give so much importance to birthdays! When and where did the culture of celebrating b'days originated?

I don't think b'day celebration is an Indian culture. Cakes too are foreign to my culture. I've never cut any cake on my birthday since my birth. I grew up in a vegetarian community. During my teenage years, I came to know about cakes & pastries. My relatives used to discuss whether should we eat a b'day cake or not. Since bakeries used to use eggs as an ingredient for cakes, they were a no-no for vegetarians. But later, some bakers came up with egg-free cakes. And then this debate started. The question was, how much trustworthy are these bakers and their kitchen? Mostly same baker used to serve egg-free cakes as well as cakes with egg. So it was considered unsafe to consume eggs in vegetarian community.

Over time, the penetration of cake cutting ceremonies became widespread. I too hesitantly started taking a slice of cake while attending b'day parties. Many times, I used to search reasons to escape from eating those slices. But it was only in 2012 that I refused to accept cake slice in a b'day party. To my pleasure, no one was offended. Since then I never accepted cakes. However I used to pay my share for cakes in my friends' group when it was gifted to the b'day boy or b'day girl.

Are Birthday celebrations a recent trend?



Repetition of Birthdays according to time cycle depends on how you define and measure time. When we accepted the Gregorian calendar, we started celebrating b'days according to our date of birth on an annual basis. However, earlier, people used to remember b'days according to Lunar calendar. Even today, Indians pay tribute to their relatives according to some Indian calendar like Vikram Samvat. Shraaddh date is decided by it.

Recently, I was surprised to see parents of newborns celebrating birthdays of their newborn every month! Now they are using a monthly cycle for their celebration. One can also use weekly cycle by choosing the week day of birth. It is all arbitrary.

The best I feel is to celebrate every day and every moment. Birthday doesn't take into account your birth but takes note of your appearance out of your mother's womb. But is there any doubt that you weren't alive in your mother's womb? Then when were you exactly born?

According to modern Science, many of your cells die every moment and are continuously replaced by new cells. In fact, most parts & organs of your bodies are completely replaced within a week if not in a day. So your body is actually taking birth every moment!

According to Indian traditions, a spirit / soul is never born and it never dies. Can Indian traditions support celebrating the birth of a body? I don't think so!

Can you imagine Arjuna gifting a cake to Lord Krishna and wishing him "Happy B'day" every year? Imagine Lord Krishna taking his Sudarshan Chakra to blow off candles and cutting the cake into two on his b'day in style? Or Maharaja Janak going to Sita in the forest to make her day special?

Well, all these imagination may appear unreal today but if the b'day celebration culture penetrates us enough, we will definitely create such images and make it appear as normal tradition.

In reality, birthdays doesn't denote any of our accomplishments. We should better celebrate our own life's accomplishments. In Indian spiritual tradition, when a person gets enlightenment, it is called his / her real birth and the day of enlightenment / salvation / nirvana / moksha are celebrated by all.

Here is a funny video of Freshman Philosopher by Ray William Johnson on this subject:

Your Birthday is Dumb

It's not that I'm against all b'day celebrations but this day is being quite over-rated by most people now. It's a good day to retrospect your life and plan your future or take some great resolutions. It definitely feels awesome if some intimate relative or friend remembers to wish you. But what good are all those formal or automated wishes which many are compelled to extend out of etiquette? Yes, it's a good excuse to reconnect with old acquaintances but most people are too busy celebrating their b'day that they can't give ample time to old connections except acknowledging their wishes.


Happy B'day To You!


Nevertheless, I wish an awesome birthday to all 21 million people out there who have a b'day today!

Sort:  

You're right that now a days people are dependent on Facebook notification about bday. When they get notifications then they start wishing over Facebook or WhatsApp or sometimes through call but honestly most of them don't really remember it. Thansk @xyzashu

Posted using Partiko Android

IMHO, It's okay if people can't remember it ...and we shouldn't mind if someone doesn't remember our b'day!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Hi, @xyzashu!

You just got a 1.04% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @xyzashu!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.910 which ranks you at #4112 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 13 places in the last three days (old rank 4099).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 217 contributions, your post is ranked at #109.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations @xyzashu! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

You got a 40.19% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @xyzashu!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 12 SBD and the respective amount in Steem.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Outlook good

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63036.79
ETH 3067.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82