FireTravels #12—Munnar Nostalgia

in #india5 years ago

mun4.jpg

I've been thinking of revisiting this place for what seems forever now. Munnar is a gorgeous place with greenery all around. You can throw a stone in any direction and it'll hit something green. Quite literally.

It's situated about 5200ft above sea level but has the highest peak in Southern India known as Anamudi peak situated at a height of 8842 ft above sea level.

mun2.jpg

The place is easily accessible from Cochin by road as it's just 140kms away. It's nice climb to Munnar itself. However, I've always enjoyed entering from the Tamil Nadu state side via Theni and exit from either Marayoor-Udumalpet into Coimbatore or directly to Cochin. Both are quite amazing however you can catch a view of Anamudi on the Munnar-Udumalpet highway .

mun1.jpg

I've ridden and driven here in the past and it has always been a memorable experience. Infact riding on these roads is absolutely fantastic. I have some incredible memories of traveling through these areas.

The drive to Top Station-a place with great views used to be nothing short of riding on a track. Butter smooth roads with great curves made for an extremely spirited driving session. I haven't been there since 2015 so I don't know if the roads are any good but I think I will plan a trip here soon enough.

Munnar is after all situated amongst the Western Ghats which is full of flora and fauna. You can find various species of animals and birds here and it is one of the most popular tourist spots in the south of the country.

I've done a few trails around here as well and know a few sweet spots for pictures. The weather is pretty great due to it's higher altitude than other surrounding regions and you can enjoy your vacation here even in the summer months.

It's basically a hill station from the colonial era which over the centuries became a hub for cultivation of tea. It's pretty fantastic here and a must try if you visit. If you visit Kochi don't forget to keep a couple of days to travel to Munnar. It's incredible beautiful and totally worth your time and money spent traveling.


If you like my work kindly resteem it to your friends. You may also continue reading my recent posts which might interest you:

  1. Why You Should Vote For Firepower As Witness—Witness Campaign Post From India!
  2. Steem.Chat Contest #71

Follow Me: @firepower

Sort:  

Great pictures! I visited once as well and I remember the tea museum, it was fun.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow! So beautiful place. I like to travel. This place is really wonderful.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes it's amazing. I was so close to it few days ago but couldn't visit :(

I've never been to munnar, but it feels to be a very beautiful and quiet place. I think, you should not postpone visiting it. Also, I'm loving the firetravels series. Thanks for sharing.

I was in Cochin a week ago but unfortunately Munnar didn't happen hence the nostalgia. Was so close and yet so far. Will try to do more travel posts. Thanks for the comment. :)

Stunning
May be i should plan to visit

Yes, along with Ooty, and Kodaikanal.

Super duper cool blog

Posted using Partiko Android

Munnar is beautiful with amazing weather and i guess famous for medicinal plants and herbs.

It's the perfect place for a getaway in the summer months.

Really awesome place.

It sure is. I was in Cochin few days ago but couldn't visit Munnar. :(

Beautiful pictures enjoy your visit.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks but based on your comment I'm wondering if you read the post... :P

Yes I know.

Posted using Partiko Android

Munnar is Heaven on Earth. Such a beautiful treasure of our Country.
And thanx for your support 😊

Munnar truly is magnificent. I remember my trip there almost a decade back. Lots of fond memories. Is it still as chilly and lovely as I remember?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60035.79
ETH 3187.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45