You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: INCREASE YOUR IQ BY LEARNING A LANGUAGE

I love language and other languages and the amazing benefits make feel even better about my interest! I used to be bilingual but barely have my second language due to lack of use (for 25 years) and have wanted to polish it up again and now I have some concrete reasons why! My 2 fav reasons are: "Become an expert decision maker" and "eliminates certain biases that otherwise infiltrate our decision-making. Specifically, our aversion to potential loss." Both of these have HUGE repercussions! Thanks for an excellent read @cryptogee! btw, internet fixed?

Sort:  

Cool, what's your second language? I'm curious now :-) Yes there are so many benefits, I just listed the best ones here and there have been a lot of studies on the benefits of having more than one language, and they are all positive as far as I can tell :-)

Internet fixed yesterday; turns out the problem is linked to BT trying to defraud me . . I might make a post about it, not sure yet.

Anyway, it's good to be back!!!! Woohoo!!! :-D

Cg

French is my second language! I used to know Spanish quite well although not quite as well as French, but I never use either so they are pretty dormant unfortunately. BUT you've inspired me to at least brush up with an app. Even if it's only a little here and there it will be a good thing.

Interesting about the BT defrauding you, I wonder what they are trying to achieve...seems better to deal with defrauding head on, but I'm sure it's more complicated than what I see. In any case, glad you're up and running.

Yes brush up! Download duolingo, it's great, you'll find that as you go through the lessons, you know and remember far more than you give yourself credit for. That's what happened with me and German; it's all in there :-)

Yeah weird with BT, basically I discovered that they had doubled my line rental etc from £31 to £63 and then tried to say that they told me from the beginning (they didn't) and then I discovered loads of hidden charges, which is a pretty serious corporate crime in the UK.

I reckon they were just trying to get me to leave, once I'm not a customer, it's difficult to speak to customer services, and of course I won't have a case file.

Anyways, the guy is calling back to day and we're going to discuss compensation.

Without sounding too dramatic, these last 3 weeks have been extremely traumatic, it's like mental torture not having the internet. Especially as I have terrible mobile coverage, so when I'm at home I use Whatsapp to speak to people.

Anyway, back now; whoohoo!

Cg

I can imagine the feeling of torture...we're SO dependent on the internet that it's hard to live without it if you're trying to get something done. It's one thing if you were on vacation off the grid or something, but to go on with life and trying to accomplish your usual just seems impossible. Hope you get fully compensated from BT, they have certainly overstepped!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62260.20
ETH 2431.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64