You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: INCREASE YOUR IQ BY LEARNING A LANGUAGE

I've only taken an IQ test once, and I scored a 141. However I'm of a similar belief to you in the sense that IQ tests can vary depending on your mood, your mindset and the questions that you are presented with. I was on the ball that day so I would be surprised if I took another one some day and scored higher...

In relation to languages; I speak English, Italian and Thai. My Italian is very rusty now and if I hear Italian, more often than not I talk back in Thai. It never crossed my mind before that the way you connect languages and comprehending different thought processes can improve logic and in turn IQ, but there could definitely be some truth to that.

Unfortunately for me if anything I am completely burnt out, and at times I feel like I have genuinely become stupid as I find it hard to absorb information like I used to. I would be scared to take an IQ test now in case I get a painfully low score and my fears are confirmed...

Sort:  

However I'm of a similar belief to you in the sense that IQ tests can vary depending on your mood, your mindset and the questions

Yes, especially the questions; for instance I tend to be quite good at the shape and number questions, however some grammatical abstractions really get me.

I love the fact that you answer Italian with Thai! Perhaps you could work out a completely new language :-) I don't know who it would be useful for beyond yourself, but it would be fun. You could call it Thailian :-)

Unfortunately for me if anything I am completely burnt out, and at times I feel like I have genuinely become stupid as I find it hard to absorb information like I used to.

This is because of the sheer amount of info there is to take in; funnily enough I'm just writing a post on that . . .

Just remember intelligence is fluid not fixed; you can always improve on areas you want to :-)

Cg

I have been told I have a mild form of Aspergers (Although I've never actually been diagnosed, I researched it last year and a lot of the symptoms pretty much described my life while growing up...) and one of the things with that is I can intensely focus on monotonous tasks. So whenever an IQ question comes up with numbers or something that most people would feel bored about, I zone in on it and the IQ test tends to work in my favour in that respect...

Ha ha! Yeah, I tell people I speak Thai-Talian. It is embarrassing at times because now literally no one can understand what I'm saying, but hopefully a few people get a laugh out of it!

Thanks for the advice. I definitely need to improve on things like memory at the moment. It's good to know that I can make it as good as it used to be. I'm looking forward to that post, let me know when it comes out :-)

That's what I love about the human race, is even things that we consider to be ailments or handicaps can come in useful from time to time.

I really want Thaitalian to catch on :-)

I will keep you posted on the next article :-)

Cg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63478.09
ETH 3067.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81