The war continues...

in #in-honor6 years ago (edited)

peace-dove-2667123__480.jpg
picture by https://www.pixabay.com

Good evening my friends. It is with the heaviest of hearts that I disclose this news. On May 18, 2018, I lost a dear friend. A close brother in arms. The kindest of souls despite the hardships of war we both encountered, along with the rest of our company stationed out of Fort Richardson Alaska. He and I served together in OEF 10 - 11. In the southern region of Afghanistan, Helmand Province, taking the fight to the enemy. He and I along with our fellow Sappers cleared the routes, so riddled with improvised explosive devices. That was our job, to ensure the safety of our coalition forces and the local nationals who rely upon the usage of these routes. He did his job to the fullest, taking on enemy fire as we were so often ambushed. Enduring the ever painful soreness that ensues after your up-armored vehicle is struck by an IED. (improvised explosive device)
Non the less after the hardships one endures during operations of great conflict, one never really returns home as he went. The horror of war is all too real in our eyes, forever burned into our memories, ever constant in our sleep. These are all symptoms of the invisible scars we bare. The ones we try to forget, but for one reason or another, we are plagued by these memories, these feelings, these demons if you will. I will not disclose his name, but we need to remember this. It is our service members voluntary actions that let us sleep peacefully at night. This war we continue to fight with ourselves is surreal and very very active. In a lot of prior service members. If you are feeling like the trials of war are too great for you to bear, remember this. You have people who care about you. Especially the soldier to the left and right of you who fought alongside you. The one that covered your 12:00 o'clock and 6:00 o'clock in desperate times. I hope you all will help me to spread the word. PTSD is a very real, and very potent killer. Help me help our service members who struggle with this fight. I am glad to know I have fellow brothers in arms to help me through all my troubles when I needed them the most. Thank you. As we Sappers say, "Essayons", which is French​ for "let us try."



"To care for him who shall have born the battle, and for his widow, and his orphan."
-Abraham Lincoln-




Sort:  

@mightymon6 you were flagged by a worthless gang of trolls, so, I gave you an upvote to counteract it! Enjoy!!

Congratulations @mightymon6! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68609.44
ETH 3824.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63