Sort:  

well, this image was 4 seconds, but I had a neutral density filter on the lens and used a tripod.
There's no good way during daylight to do a long exposure, and get that silky water texture, without filters.

I usually need to get the shutter speed below 1/5 of a second or so before the effect becomes good. If water is moving fast I might get it at 1/10 of a second. Longer is better.

I don't have filters so I try to shoot in lower light so I can get those slow speeds without overexposure. Also set your aperture as small as your lens allows so you can get a longer exposure. But as Bluefinstudios said, you can't do much in bright light without filters.

You really want a tripod, but if you have a steady hand, you can just do it handheld at around 1/5 to 1/2 second.

I was out doing a waterfall hunt this weekend, and had to shoot with the light that was available at the time I was there. Fortunately it was shady so I got a few shots that worked.

There is a trick I've heard about and wanted to try. You take several shots without moving the camera, and blend them together in Photoshop to create the effect of a long exposure.

I'll post the results when I get them processed.

Scott

Posted using Partiko Android

Stacking different exposures is how I captured my entry this week. Depending on the light it can take dozens of exposures to to a good long exposure effect.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58009.23
ETH 3063.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34