Images Skills Photo Contest - Leading Lines

in #imageskills6 years ago (edited)

Linephoto2.jpg

This is my entry for the Image Skills Challenge.

I took this photo at the local art gallery in-between two buildings with a reflection pond in the middle. It was a matter of luck and being at the right place at the right time to get this image. Personally, I see a mountain scene with a river running through it - although the scene is actually created with both lines and the cast of shadowing/light by the setting sun.

I'm sure that others will see something different, but I was really happy to discover a different aspect of photography that I hadn't considered before this photo. So, I thought it would be the perfect entry for @bluefinstudios Leading Lines.

Photo taken with Nikon D70

Sort:  

Lovely composition, looks like a totem pole coming off of reflection with perfect tree lane, well done @youhavewings

Thank you so much @joanstewart I like your interpretation.

Leading lines, reflections and WATER!
the trifecta!

well done!

Thank you, @bluefinstudios :) Is that a photography term?

I'm so happy that you are doing these challenges - I really love photography and have a lot to learn about it.

Whoa this is absolutely amazing @youhavewings perfect choice!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

howdy there youhavewings! whoa! I'm staring at this picture and it's totally mesmerizing. lol. There is nothing but water between the two buildings?
It may be a lucky shot but you also have a great eye, an artist's eye!

Hi there @janton :)

It is a pretty amazing shot - this shot taught me so much! Who knew!

Yes, nothing but water between the buildings.....it is a reflection pond that seemed lost/un-noticed. I just happened upon it. I went back the following day and the side panels are actually 'white' so it was not the same image, nor were there mountain peaks on the horizon. :)

Thank you so much always for your kind words. Hope you and Mrs. J are doing well.

howdy again youhavewings! That shot taught you to take photos of everything and you might get lucky? lol.

Mrs. J started her new job last week and loves it! lol. It sounds crazy because no one wants to do this kind of work but she really does and knows that she is supposed to be there so we are very excited!

What's going on at your place? I know you have better things to do than steemit.

What it taught me is that architectural photography has value as I normally only photograph 'living things'. And also to see the art in the abstract. Now I look more - opened my eyes.

Mrs J actually gives me hope that there are others out there that enjoy the work she is doing (you are doing). I get too emotional and find it hard not to take everyone's story unto myself - so it is wonderful that there are those that can do this kind of work and stay focused. I saw that new programs are being funded to help families like the ones you are helping. Did you catch that? Maybe this will help you get to the next level in your project.

What's going on here? We are still trying to find our new normal after Bayley and my husband is trying to find a new job...and the holidays are quickly approaching our doorstep which means preparing for recitals, extra master classes. And I don't seem to be as fast as I used to be keeping up with all this stuff ;)

howdy again youhavewings! No I haven't heard about any programs to help families, that has to be a federal government one right?

What kind of business is your husband in and why does he want to change jobs?

He's a data architect primarily, @janton. It wasn't his decision to change jobs, he worked there for 20 years and they let him go just shy of some of his benefits kicking in (like 4 mos before). They've been letting go of thousands for the last 7 years I would say - it used to be a family friendly company and then went through many mergers which gutted it's humanity in place of profit. A common theme with major corporations.

He does have some severance pay coming and this could be (will be) a blessing in disguise ;) As I do believe in happy endings.....

Hope you have a wonderful day, @janton. Always nice hearing from you.

howdy again youhavewings! What's wrong with big companies? geez I hear stories like this all the time! So it really is true that most of them only care about profits.

So will he be looking for the same kind of work? I don't know what a data architect is.

Sadly, true @janton Maybe not all of them but I think once a company becomes this big, they often do lose sight of human factor.

Yes, he will be looking for the same type of job description. He has two interviews this week. Fingers crossed.

Data architect....they basically build and coordinate a system(s) of data or consult on streamlining data, storing data, etc, etc Something like that ;)

A new documentary on the topic with programs and people trying to help this horrible crisis.

thank you so much youhavewings! I'll check this out.

Not too pretty :( I understand better now why this is here and destroying so many families/lives.

not pretty at all but somehow we've gotten to this place here in this country, not sure why it's so bad but addiction is a nightmare.

What a most beautiful shot! I love how the reflections in the water mirror the line of the facade of the building. This creates a very interesting perspective.

Thank you so much, @anutu :)

Hi @youhavewings, I'm @checky ! While checking the mentions made in this post I noticed that @bluefinstudio doesn't exist on Steem. Did you mean to write @bluefinstudios ?

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by youhavewings from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @youhavewings! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 8000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61986.20
ETH 2421.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63