Human Behavior And The Human Mind - Just An Illusion? - Inspired By Awesome Bjoerk

in #illusion8 years ago (edited)

The World was designed by some sort of Intelligence? The human mind, my brain and mind always fascinated me. At some point in the process of maturing, I caught on those tricks played with me, especially at the times when I experimented with various drugs out of curiosity but beside the physical damage to my body, probably loosing a few of my brain cells, I do value the amazing lessons I have learned, how we can control anything we want to, in times when paranoia shows up.

Image Source 

Free will might be an illusion created by our brains, scientists might have proved. Picture source Humans are convinced that they make conscious choices as they live their lives, but instead scientists say it may be that the brain just convinces itself that it made a free choice from the available options after the decision is made, says a report in the journal Psychological Science.          

Fear and Regret, an illusion! 

Many of us crucify ourselves between two thieves – regret for the past and fear of the future.

How are we capable to switch off and on when fears and regrets surface and scare the hell out of you? 

Scared to fall! Scared of failure! Scared of even love, to be loved! Scared of the future! Scared of too much nonsense and anything shallow. How ridiculous what illusions our mind can create if we let it happen.

Image Source 

                                   

Feel the fear and do it anyway. The title to Dr Susan Jeffers book. She is teaching techniques how to change our negative thought pattern and how to take risks leaving our comfort zones behind, one of those topics I will always read about. 

I dared to confront my fears more than once and that's how I became fearless, courageous in my youth, facing my demons on and on, craving for therapy without the help of a therapist, I personally would never trust. It helped me to figure out my own ways to heal, accept my human flaws and shake off my failures. 

Today I celebrate my 58th birthday and I feel humbled by that number. Things changed a bit. I would not get on a motorbike cx 500 honda anymore and play it more safe. I am for sure much more cautious valuing my precious life much more. I had no concept of danger. 19 years young I would enjoy risking anything. I was a tomboy girl, felt annoyed with so called girlie stuff, pink raffled dresses and stupid chats about make up. I would hide my boobs and dress like a boy, more girls were attracted to me than guys. Haa! Fun times!

I preferred to race among boys as the first female school teacher student in Austria. I only did it once to compete with the biggies but I made it through and reached the finish line for that competition. I was scared to fall but then I remembered one of the famous UK racers (I forgot his name) interview where he was asked : "Are you scared of falling before you go on your bike?" He answered : "No, I am not because when it gets too hot on my butt after falling, I just turn around." 

Those days when I smoked black shit we called hash oil and discovered Jazz with my first big crush Ernst, The winner of the race who took me away with his bike and it felt great. The days where we lost many friends due to heroin addiction, stars like Jim Morrison, Jimi Hendrix, Billie Holiday, Janis Joplin and many more......RIP!  

Here is my previous story about this Sturm & Drang period. You might like it.

My Past Life on TOUR and on Stage with **MILES DAVIS & FEMI KUTI** Photo taken in Italy 1984  - Music is my Passion !

Yap, just turn around when you fall ......

Human Behavior is an illusion or the Illusion of being Human?

I have thought very deeply about the nature of human behavior. Our everyday conception of how our mind works is greatly misleading and we are actually victims of an illusion of mental depth. The illusion of depth in human behavior is when the mind is flat. 

Nothing on earth puts more pressure on the human mind than nothing.   
 ― Stefan Zweig

I have many questions. How do we think and decide? Wouldn't it be awesome if we could get free brain scans once in a while to understand our mystical aspect of human behavior, our behavior patterns? How to improvise our characters trying to stay in our roles in society? How can I interact more efficiently with society to create a better world?

Illusions occur when what we perceive does not match with the true  state of the world. When our thoughts do not accurately reflect  objective reality. Visual illusions make this obvious, and we usually  enjoy them. We see one white square and one black square, but they turn  out to truly be the same shade of grey. Or two lines of equal length  appear to be different. A waterfall flows ever downward yet somehow also  falls up. 
Scientist-artist Beau Lotto  pointed out that even something as simple as the perceptual experience  of color is subject to illusion; the colors we perceive are not  necessarily indicative of the physical nature of the light that hits our  retinas. Our brain is, in other words, prepared to interpret certain  parts of the visual field differently, depending on the surrounding  context. The white and grey squares on either side of the table leg  (below) are actually the same color. But the presence of a shadow causes  your brain to experience them differently.
                                            !  

Read more about how to induce human behavior by using illusion

                                              


I hope you like this song inspiring me to write such article: 

Video directed by Michel Gondry.
Written by Björk/Nellee Hooper.
Published by Universal Music Publishing Ltd/
Warner Chappell Music Ltd.
® 1993 One Little Indian Records Ltd.

If you ever get close to a human
And human behavior
Be ready, be ready to get confused
And me and my hereafter
There's definitely, definitely, definitely no logic
To human behavior
But yet so, yet so irresistible
And me and my fear can
And there's no map uncertain
They're terribly, terribly, terribly moody of human behavior
Then all of a sudden, turn happy and they and my here after
But, oh, to get involved in the exchange of human emotions
Is ever so ever so satisfying and they and my here, oh
And there's no map uncertain
Human behavior, human behavior
Human behavior, human behavior

Image source - Bjork



Everlasting Happiness is an Illusion!?

My happiness to celebrate a birthday right now is real! So is my sadness! 

Image Source 

Feelings are REAL! Never hide them but always control the bad ones such as anger. 

                                                    

I should be on a plane to Europe right now but extended my feeling  of "ecstasy" for a bit longer and changed my flight for 2 days later. You can only stretch the fun for a little while before emotions will change again. Anyways, kind of hilarious, I poured a drink last night and forgot that I was throwing some MDMA in the bottle of vodka I kept in the fridge. Somebody gave me that stuff a while back but I pretended I took it and threw it in the bottle. I don't like to do drugs anymore. Can you imagine how I was surprised? Yipppieee ! Oh well, I am still flying and feel great but for sure to old to get on a long distance plane, being fucked up. I didn't feel like this since NYC wild days. 

Illusion of Happiness! Don't you love that one ? I fell in love so badly when I took that stuff for the very first time and thinking back, I lived that illusion of being in love deeply and it became an unhealthy and painful obsession. Remember! Cut out the negative thoughts. Obsession is one of those and I was stuck for many years.

The human mind is an illusion, so it does not exist even though it may  seem to exist. However, the mind of God - the mind of the world - is the  entity of Truth which actually exists although it has no form. - Woo Myung, Stop Living In This Land, Go To The Everlasting World Of Happiness, Live There Forever 

What about our thoughts? 

Manifest! Its essential for a happy life if you can wipe away every single negative thought! Out of my own experience I can secure you that its working! We create our own reality! Our mind will follow us and not the other way around.

“Thoughts are the product of a machine we call the human mind. So manufacture some excellent thoughts.”   
 ―     Debasish Mridha M.D.


Here you can read one of my favorite poets quote 

“The human mind is so limited it can only build an arbitrary heaven —  and usually the physical comforts they endow it with are naively the  kind that can be perceived as we humans perceive — nothing more. No:  perhaps I will awake to find myself burning in hell. I think not. I  think I will be snuffed out. Black is sleep; black is a fainting spell;  and black is death, with no light, no waking.”   
 ―     Sylvia Plath,      The Unabridged Journals of Sylvia Plath 

POETRY to Let your TODAY shine  by **FRIDA KAHLO **and **ANAIS NIN**

Last not least the Best : 

“The two great movers of the human mind are the desire of good and the fear of evil.”   
 ―     Amit Abraham,      Personality Development Through Positive Thinking 


Yours 

Mammasitta

www.mammasitta.com

@lamammasitta on instagram 

@silvieinbali on twitter

Sort:  

Your post made this Bjork fan violently happy! ^_^

I don't know if this is a quote or something you wrote directly:

"Many of us crucify ourselves between two thieves – regret for the past and fear of the future."

But that is just brilliant - and I was a long time suffer. Not 100% cured but way better these days.

Without suffering we would not understand joy nor happiness:)
Nice to meet you!

http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/277521.Fulton_Oursler
This quote is from Fulton Oursler, a wonderful Author I admire :)

Born in Baltimore, Maryland, The United States
January 22, 1893, Died May 24, 1952

Genre
Fiction

Charles Fulton Oursler was an American journalist, playwright, editor and writer. Writing as Anthony Abbot, he was a notable author of mysteries and detective fiction.

Loading...

I am in on everything you've said haha. These are the insights that start you down the rabbit hole, and your use of bjork and sylvia plath was perfect. Those are both writers who influenced me early in life, and their ideas were represented here relevantly. Great post :)

I always enjoy your comments . Thank you so much ! Sometimes I wish I could see the face and smile. I am smiling right now that you know those poets I mentioned.

A Brief History of the Study of Consciousness, Stuart Hameroff

Thank you ! That's really nice !

Thank you @curie team to put my article on your list among so many awesome authors ! means a lot to me ! Such a nice birthday present !

https://steemit.com/curie/@curie/the-daily-curie-19th-sept-20th-sept-2016-part-1

Free will isn't an illusion. Saying "available options" implies options, and therefore a choice, no matter the deterministic input of reality that feeds us the data. To have consciousness, is to have free will, whether you exercise it or not, whether you operate unconsciously without using it or choose to develop more awareness of reality and yourself to expand your choices in life.

Behavior isn't an illusion, actions are created, again, either automatically through influences from society and our environment without our awareness, or because we actively choose one thing over another willfully in awareness of knowledge in reality.

Interesting thoughts @krnel

I looked up what FREE WILL is on the Stanford Encyclopaedia and this is what I found :

“Free Will” is a philosophical term of art for a particular sort of capacity of rational agents to choose a course of action from among various alternatives. Which sort is the free will sort is what all the fuss is about. (And what a fuss it has been: philosophers have debated this question for over two millennia, and just about every major philosopher has had something to say about it.) Most philosophers suppose that the concept of free will is very closely connected to the concept of moral responsibility. Acting with free will, on such views, is just to satisfy the metaphysical requirement on being responsible for one's action. (Clearly, there will also be epistemic conditions on responsibility as well, such as being aware—or failing that, being culpably unaware—of relevant alternatives to one's action and of the alternatives' moral significance.) But the significance of free will is not exhausted by its connection to moral responsibility. Free will also appears to be a condition on desert for one's accomplishments (why sustained effort and creative work are praiseworthy); on the autonomy and dignity of persons; and on the value we accord to love and friendship. (See Kane 1996, 81ff. and Clarke 2003, Ch.1; but see also Pereboom 2001, Ch.7.)
More to read : http://plato.stanford.edu/entries/freewill/

Behavior can be an illusion ... your perception of that illusion becomes YOUR delusion ...
You are arguing semantics, you missed the point .... She was saying that that life, behavior etc. was an illusion, because it was not 'real', a facade ... "Created for the benefit of others ".. As in wearing a smile ....

You did understand me very well @jtstreetman Thats exactly what I meant. Thank you for explaining because I finally catch my plane soon :) and offline finally

/sadness ... Humming bird don't fly away, fly away ....
Be Happy Sweetheart !

"Even if you decide not to choose, you still have made a choice"
Rush ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60723.46
ETH 3353.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51