You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Herbal Medicine: Growing, Tincturing & Using Valerian | #ihaveanxietytoo Half-Way Wrap-Up

in #ihaveanxietytoo6 years ago (edited)

Hey @mountainjewel I did part 3 "Lemon balm" good thing we did not post on the same herb simultaneously, that would have been too weird...

https://steemit.com/ihaveanxietytoo/@friendly-fenix/anxiety-remedies-that-work-part-3-lemon-balm

I tried valerian a few times, it has always had a different effect depending on the brand, I would like to try some fresh root one of these days...

I tried wildcrafting it a few years back but it is too similar to certain deadly plants that I didn't dare to try it in the end...

Thanks for all the cool info, and the link, maybe I will grow Valerian next year...
I will have like a full on anti-anxiety garden...

Cheers and happy steeming!

/FF

Sort:  

Awesome; I added it to the section mentioning you above. Thank you for sharing your herbal profiles. It's quite easy to grow if you go through with it :) best wishes!

Its smells funky right? Valerian?
I remember I found a root and it smelled funky and looked right but since it was extremely similar to Hemlock I did not have the guts to consume the root, (but hemlock would have cured my anxiety permanently, because that is deadly stuff , ask Socrates, lol )... Thanks for adding my article, I will add yours too!!! =D
Cheerios!
/FF

yeah it has a strong smell some find unpleasant. it's somewhat similar to hemlock, but different enough you should be okay if you have basic plant ID skills. but if you don't feel 100% safe, i would do as you did and step away from harvesting it!

Yeah, I did not have the internet or a good field-guide or anyone to show me the "exact" difference... Ha ha... Not everybody has "basic plant ID skills", so maybe you should do a warning or something for people who wants to go out and wildcraft? How to tell the difference or something??? I think the hemlock root is full of these weird cavities...Or maybe it was the other way around? Ha ha... Anyway be safe out there everyone!!!

Hugs and herbs!

/FF

yes exactly. it's not within the scope of this article to also go into ID and i didn't mention wildcrafting of valerian (only growing your own or buying from a trusted source online) specifically for that reason. there's only so much i can cover in an article ;) i do sometimes i write ID and wildcrafting articles tho :) the plants themselves, before they're dug up, have a lot of differences. it's my opinion too that anyone going out looking for plants with white umbel flowers and tall stalks should know how to ID hemlock! or not touch it at all. if you can ID hemlock, you'll be much safer finding the plant you ARE looking for! :)

@mountainjewel, did not want to critices your article, the article is great, but I just read that some dude in your comments wanted to go out and wildcraft... And then I remembered my dilemma a few years back whilst wildcrafting...

iu.jpeg

Valerian (image source) Good.

220px-Illustration_Cicuta_virosa0.jpg

Hemlock (Image source) Warning (poison).

Cheers!

/FF

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62881.38
ETH 2449.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62