IFC Championship Round: "Help the Beginners"

in #ifc6 years ago

I would like to introduce a brand new Steemian that I think will be a rising star and beautiful asset to the Steemian Community, @gracefulhearts

https://steemit.com/newbiesteemitday/@gracefulhearts/hello-steemians-let-me-introduce-myself

Welcome, welcome, welcome, @gracefulhearts - Your Steemit name reflects your energy so completely!

I was immediately drawn to @gracefulhearts photo on her introduceyourself post because it reflected so much introspection and wisdom. When I began to read her post, I was just blown away by its authenticity and 'grace':

If dust bunny corners and dog slobbered windows could describe my view of the world, it might actually be accurate.

She further states this beautiful metaphor regarding a current situation in her life which brought her a profound thought.

I recently had my floors redone and the workers left a mess of vinyl dust and fragments all over the garden, and the phrase came to me to “treat the outside as the inside,” for both are our homes. I think if people adopted that intent, the Earth would be in a much better place!

Grace's interests are streamlined with her creative aspirations to not only improve herself on the inside but also on the outside. Her listing of life interests reflect this so beautifully:

I am also involved with yoga, hiking, healthy food, and am in the active phase of writing a musical….songs, dialogue, and stage settings.

Not only is Grace a creative writer, but she also includes Feng Shui and helping people in her physical therapy practice.

I got the distinct impression from @gracefulhearts introduceyourself post that she was intent on being an active participant with the Steemit Community which is another reason I feel she would be the perfect candidate for mentoring and support. So, I reached out to her to offer some support and help to get her going.

I've not been on Steemit that long myself, but I definitely experienced the hurdles involved in taking in an overwhelming amount of information and learning what's involved in just getting your post out there! It seemed so contradictory to me in the beginning, spending the majority of my time fighting with the very basics.

Luckily I was able to help Grace get started with some suggestions that I hope alleviate some of the mystery so she can concentrate on 'creating':

  • MARKDOWN - A necessary part of posting on Steemit. It's a useful tool in order to create awesome posts but also 'save' your work. Once your post has reached it's payout, you will no longer be able to go into the edit to see the syntax you used so it is most useful having that Markdown file available to refer back for future posts.

    To download: http://markdownpad.com/download.html

    This is a free app. I just recently upgraded to the professional so I could have more tools but for newbies, the free app works just fine and you can make the decision later to upgrade or not.

  • WRITING INSPIRATION:

    Writing Prompts!: I found this wonderful website with so many writing prompts to help in coming up with things to write about (if you find yourself in a slump): http://https://thinkwritten.com/365-creative-writing-prompts/

  • IMAGES: in your posts I think is important to set the tone and feeling visually - The two that I prefer using.

    https://www.pexels.com
    https://pixabay.com

    Always 'source' your photographs/information when applicable:
    syntax to use: first upload your image and then followup with ---> [Source](YOUR LINK TO SOURCE HERE)

It should look like this:

Source

-This was taught to me by @lynncoyle1 who spent HOURS with me trying to get this right!

  • TAGS: Tags are 'important' - You are allowed 5 tags to use - no caps, oneword, separated by one space between. For newbies, the newbieresteemitday tag will be important. I had no idea what this was initially, and then @davemccoy helped me so much learning about this amazing program to help new Steemians.

    It helps to look at the tag categories on Steemit to get an idea of what to use although heavily used tags are not necessarily the best tags as this means your post will likely get lost in this big ocean that is Steemit

  • VOTING:- Steemit is not like facebook or twitter where you just willy nilly upvote things you like (you're likely going to run out of Steem real quick!) Votes are precious, use them wisely.

  • COMMENTING: Personally, I approach this with 'do unto others as you would have them do unto you'. If someone took the time to support your work and comment on your post, then you should acknowledge their efforts and comment back your appreciation for taking the time to do so. Also commenting on others' posts is showing your support for their work - Community, community, community!

  • UTILIZE DISCORD! This is by far one of the most important components of Steemit for a newbie. This is where newbies have the opportunity to gain added support from Steemians, gain knowledge about respective interests, join communities that support each other and network. Also, the @ifc and a few other groups have a marketplace for those that want to pursue selling goods and services! Pretty cool! You can also take classes and learn new things to improve your Steemit experience and yourself! And of course, make lots of friends. Can't recommend enough.

    I do recommend downloading this to your computer/device rather than in a browser as I've had some trouble in the browser.

    https://discordapp.com/

  • USEFUL PROGRAMS that will help managing your Steemit account:

    https://steemworld.org/@YOURACCOUNTNAME
    https://steemd.com/@YOURACCOUNTNAME
    https://steemnow.com/@YOURACCOUNTNAME

  • BOT OR NOT TO BOT (and other self-promotion): I have only just recently starting using these as I was unsure before about it. Unfortunately, it's difficult for newbies to get exposure for their posts and it's rather depressing to see a post you've put your time and tears into, sit there with 1 vote. It's not personal, it's just that Steemit is such a vast ocean. I think these bots and self promotion are helpful (rethinking it).

    I asked @jan23 to help me with safe bots to try out initially:

    @thundercurator send 0.121 SBD
    @automation send 0.01 SBD
    @shares send 0.10

I use this program but I'm sure there are others: https://steemworld.org/@gracefulhearts

Very important! You will need your 'active key' for this transaction. Never, ever, ever use your active key for posting - only use your 'posting key'.

A useful program to monitor bots:

https://steembottracker.com/

Utilize Discord Post-Promotion! As you join various groups that align with your interests, you will find that most have a section for 'post promotion'. Usually these have some 'guidelines' for posting your link so make sure to find the 'bell icon' to the upper right to find out what those are before you post your link.

To name just a few! Steemit is full of contest opportunities.


I hope that this serves as a reference for not only @gracefulhearts but others starting on their Steemit journey.

Thank you @IFC , @apolymask for being supportive during my own growing here on Steemit and creating this amazing contest in which to dream and write!

Big thank you also to @beeyou, @davemccoy, @lynncoyle1, @curie, @newbieresteemitday, @asapers, @insideoutlet, @c-squared, @thehive for being the big presence that you are on Steemit and being the consistent 'Help the Beginners' superstars!

You all do so much for this Community!

Special thank you to @deliberator for inspiring this great quest!

As I write this, @gracefulhearts is enthusiastically preparing her first post! So excited for her - It's going to be fun to watch her blossom here on Steemit! Can't wait to see what she shares with us.

In the spirit of Steemit, let's give @gracefulhearts a healthy dose of Steeemit love as she embarks on completing her current project of writing a musical….songs, dialogue, and stage settings! Oh my!

Sort:  

Lovely introduction of a new arrival with superb links to learn to grow quickly @youhavewings

Thank you so much, @joanstewart - I think I'm going to start doing this more (great feeling). @gracefulhearts just had a really wonderful intro.

Now that would probably be a good post, huh? What makes a good introduction post?

I'm glad to see you take @gracefulhearts under your wings... She will fly high I'm sure as you have grown them strong as you've developed them amazingly! This place is better because of you, so thanks for showing another how to soar!

Oh @davemccoy, I cannot emphasize enough gratitude to you for giving these wings flight! You have no idea what you did. LOL! I have that story sitting in my Markdown - amazing experience! Thank you, truly.

I do hope that @gracefulhearts takes off and has a similar experience.

That is very very kind of you to say @youhavewings... If I could help you in any way then I'm truly honored. And I have no doubt that you are already giving her that lift she needs, and if you ever need me to team up with you to help her or any others, then let me know!

Thank you, @davemccoy! I think she may need some help with ways to share her music - that is out of my genre. She mentioned needing some advise about this in her post.

I know that there are many out there that will know and between us I think we can find her some answers. Maybe @coruscate or @paintingangels will know something... If not, then I know @maverickinvictus knows pretty much everything there is to know!

Hey Dave thanks for the mention I have been not that active in Steemit for some time now as I am currently very engrossed with playing online games.

Yet I wanted to give some of projects that will be worth checking for her. One just project is Steempress where it combines having a blog in the Steem blockhain as well as a Wordpress blog that gives life to your post even way after the seven days. Steempress also received a delegation of a million SP from Steemit Inc so if she puts out good content then for sure she will be getting votes from them.

She could also utilize Dlive and Dtube for her creative pieces and theaterical work.

There are a lot of great communities that she can find in this platform.

awesome Mav, I knew you would have an answer! And of course a good one too! :) ... Its good to see you checking in, I hope you get more engaged again with the Steem Monster game when it goes live in a month or so... Then your death team can do some damage, I have been wanting to play you in a battle of great minds :P

Thanks again for the help, I will pass it along!

Such an amazing post.. She is lucky to have you as a mentor.. Some very useful tips here which I would love to use.. 😍😘thank you for sharing

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you, @itravelarts!

Anytime you need help with anything, just let me know! I would be happy to help you anyway I can.

This is so beautiful @youhavewings; it's wonderful to see you caring on the "helpful" torch :) I had to smile remembering the day I taught you how to "source" your photos lol I'd forgotten, but it did take a while, didn't it? haha

Congratulations on being in the finals for the IFC Championship too! It seems like yesterday talking with @apolymask about the whole thing, and now it's suddently 7 months later! Crazy! But such an amazing prize!!! Good luck :)

I would love for you to have a look at this post and submit @gracefulhearts introduce me post! I've already submitted one and can't put another there :) It's a perfect fit with your post too!

Thank you so much, @lynncoyle1 :)

I thought you would appreciate that mention - I felt sooooo bad about using up so much of your time with me and that photo! LOL But you were so incredibly patient and wonderful about it.

I think this is a wonderful learning experience in helping someone and I think I will probably jump in with more after this. Interesting getting a glimpse at what what you all do every day ;)

What a great tip on the 'help a beginner'! I love the initiative you shared! Wow....I think I'm going to have to follow it and participate more often - so wonderful. Thank you so much for sharing that.

Awww don't feel bad about it at all @youhavewings! Some days I miss teaching and that moment when a student "gets something", so you filled that void beautifully 😅 haha

I hope you do "jump in" because if this post is any indication, you're very good at it!!

I'm so glad you loved that post from @gogogadgetupvote! Such an awesome initiative for sure 😅

This is a really great post! It is easy to read and very informative. I wish I had found a post like this when I first started.

This post has received a 50.00% UpGoat from @shares. Send at least 0.1 SBD to @shares with a post link in the memo field.

Interested to earn daily? Delegate Steem Power to receive 95% payout rewards. Use this link https://on.king.net/shares to delegate SP to @Shares. Join us at https://steemchat.com/ discord chat.

Support my owner. Please vote @Yehey as Witness - simply click and vote.

Congratulations @youhavewings! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Oh I didn't know abt the markdown pad. Maybe I'll check on it later. 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Do you have mac or PC, @artgirl? If you have a mac, you need this version: https://macdown.uranusjr.com/

Just PC...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63773.27
ETH 2738.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59