Alphabet Word Challenge (in Dutch): Information Finding Championship S02R11

in #ifc5 years ago (edited)

Unsplash

This is my entry for the Information Finding Championship season 2, Round 11 (by @apolymask and @ifc) with the topic Alphabet Word Challenge.

I was thinking of skipping this round as word games aren't really my thing... However, then I thought it would be a great way to practice my Dutch! To see if I could come up with a word in my second (and much weaker) language!

It's going to be like a Rorschach test... A list of words that I seem to have a contact with, as it takes a bit for me to just come up with a word on demand in Dutch!

So here goes!

A: Aardappel (potato, or literally an eartg apple! )
B: Beertje (little bear, we always buy jam cut in the shape of a bear for the kids... )
C: Cadeautje (present, a gift)
D: Duik (dive, my oldest is learning her swimming survival... )
E: Eiwit (protein, for ages I thought it was egg white! )
F: Fiets (bike, it's the Netherlands! )
G: Groenten (Vegetables, greens! )
H: Haan (rooster, I keep thinking it is a hen)
I : Ijsje (Ice cream, my favourite word... Also for my kids)
J: Jongen (boy, one of my bosses still calls me this! )
K: Klank (sound, weirdly it is all sound.. Not just a clank! )
L: Luizen (lice, our eternal struggle.. )
M: Meisje (girl, I'm outnumbered at home... )
N: Nul (zero, I keep pronouncing this like the English null... Which my wife is surprised that I even use.. )
O: Oranje (Orange, the National Colour!)
P: Potlood (Pencil, the kit of a musician.)
Q: Quark (okay, Dutch don't really use the letter Q....)
R: Regen (Rain...it's the Netherlands!)
S: Schiphol (the name of the Amsterdam airport)
T: Tuin (garden... But it sounds like town)
U: Ui (Onion, and I can never say this right....)
V: Venlo (Venlo, A place, the end of line station for a train line)
W: Wit (White... Pure... )
X: Xylofoon (xylophone... Ha ha I'm a musician... )
Y: Yoghurt (Yoghurt... again, Y is not generally used, instead "ij" is more often used).
Z: Zeeland (Zeeland, a province ),


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones



The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

What a fun and very interesting entry in my opinion! A few of those words sound similar to their counterparts like "oranje", as someone who loves language it was enjoyable to look a little bit deeper and to try to see the commonalities.

Even though the sentence, paragraph, story whatever you'd like to call it didn't make a lot of sense in the flow from one word to another I give you extra points in my book for using a different language! That was cool. Thoroughly appreciated the effort and I had a good time reading it. :) Thanks for giving it a try even though word games aren't really your thing!

Making a coherent sentence was way beyond my current skill in Dutch!

It's interesting, I never learnt or studied another language until Dutch, and that was when I was an adult. Even in English, I was never taught formal grammar at school! So the ideas of verb conjugation and sentence structures was all new to me... Although, it was something that had just done instinctively in English...

Anyway, it is really interesting to see the similarities between Dutch and English... They do have a common ancestor so there is a mechanism for the similar words.... Sentence structure is closer to German though, but there still are things that are close enough to English that I can sometimes really in my hunch to get things right. That said, it is a language that is more orderly and stick closer to grammatical, pronunciation and spelling rules (like most languages...), which really makes you realise how English is just a chaotic mess!

You got a 4.48% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @bengy! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 45 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97