You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Conspiracy! IFC Finals - Second Round

in #ifc6 years ago

No one actually knows what they are doing. Everyone here is really just winging it, doing the best they can with what they have.

On one hand yes, but on another there do appear to be groups that know a lot more than us regular people. In the end though, I think some things will always remain a mystery to humans no matter how much some people think they know.

We can't operate effectively in an unpredictable world. To avoid being in fight or flight all the time, we are adapted to assume a lot about our world and how our actions will turn out. This plan is not perfect, but it is adaptive. It serves us well most of the time. Until something comes along that we can't predict, which always inevitably happens.

Interesting stuff. I can relate. I've been thinking very similar thoughts lately and you worded that very well. This is one reason it's so critical to be open minded to new information and not to get too stuck in thinking you're always right, especially when the world is so unpredictable and there's so much we can probably never know

and for 200+ years my country has been led by a series of people just doing the best they can.

I disagree here in the sense that they aren't doing the best they can for us or to make society work for everyone but they were doing the best they can do control everyone.. This issue of control is such an important issue, it's definitely one of the most important issues in my opinion and where virtually all immorality stems from, the need to control others.

I am near the contest deadline, and at the very edge of what we know. Each of us is now participating in a new experiment of decentralized "control". One which recognizes that control in real life is like surfing, or steering a ship. You orient yourself and adjust as you go, being fairly clear about your aim but rather loose with the details that change along the way.

Indeed.. But is it an experiment or perhaps an inevitable sort of resistance perhaps even spiritual that is pushing back against the powers of control and demanding to be more free? I'm not sure. I'm open to either possibility or that it's something I haven't even thought of. heh.

Great entry! While I enjoyed bashadows, I liked yours a bit more. I'm voting for you this round.

Sort:  

Thank you, I appreciate the time and care you take with each vote.
I would agree that for too much of history, too many people have erred on the side of trying to control others. Where I might differ is that I see those attempts at control as a weakness or an error of the people in "power". Wiser leaders (or just wiser people) would see that controlling one's own self is challenging enough, and attempting to control another always does collateral damage!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63348.66
ETH 2668.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78