You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Me, Myself, and I...HOW I'M LEARNING TO LOVE MYSELF MORE EVERYDAY

Welcome to Steemit, Jill!

Oh, I miss the beach. I grew up in Southern California and got to spend 10 weeks surfing Costa Rica. My wife did a post on our trip as well. When island are you on?

I like your list for self love and though I agree comparing on social media is bad, but I also think social media can be an excellent way to connect and build relationships. That also can be a wonderful aspect of self love.

Sort:  

I am on Maui :)

I totally agree about your view on social media and relationships are great to have through social media; without it I wouldn't be able to stay connected with friends I have across the country. Though I believe it can be used a great tool for growth and connection, my experiences have more so been leaning towards the side of abuse. I can't help that think most of our relationships are becoming too technological, though, and feeling the need (addiction) to see what everyone is doing all the time on social media can take away from where we are in the present moment.

I'll definitely be checking out your posts on the surfing trip!

Thanks!

most of our relationships are becoming too technological, though

But people felt this way about the telephone, right? As in, "Why would I call someone if I can go visit them?" I think technology can (if used correctly) enhance our relationships. It can actually increase our human connection. I have family in CA and being able to see them on a video hangout is amazing!

That said, I completely agree if we're constantly staring at our phones instead of connecting with the people right in front of us, that's just rude. For me, I treat it like any other conversation. Some of my conversations are in person, some are online. Since I run my own company with a completely decentralized team for years, I'm very comfortable with using technology to connect people together. Much of it comes down to our own perceptions.

I hope you enjoy Steemit!

Again, this is just based off of my experiences and lessons I'm developing into my life. For my own personal development, I find that I struggle with balancing social media for what it's really worth and find myself comparing and wishing to be someone I'm not. So that's just an aspect I laid out as a lesson I'm continuously learning from. I didn't try to make it sound like social media is completely and totally bad, I may have gotten a bit caught up with my writing. Of course I call my family who's in California on FaceTime. I love that. I am thinking I'm surrounded with constant comparison, by people who use social media the wrong way which led me to that conclusion of improving my own self love. Take some time away from it when I'm feeling over burdened with information and people telling me to look a certain way.

I am enjoying steemit so far, for sure! It's definitely challenging my mind by learning about the whole system, cryptocurrency, and basic coding. Super fun for me :)

Awesome!

Yeah, I see technology as a tool. How we use it will determine how we thrive. Great to hear you're learning more about yourself and what works best for you. I've found for myself a big part of the joy I get out of a social media network comes from who I follow. If I follow the wrong crowd, I end up not liking the network (surprise, surprise!). I hope you make some great, genuine connections here on Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59435.06
ETH 2521.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42