Steem Viral | Steem City - Few Ideas for Steemit X-PrizesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #ideasfactory8 years ago (edited)

Introduction

A few days ago,  I bumped into @thecryptofiend ´s post about his marketing and promotion challenge. I quickly thought - AWESOME, I am going to get out of my comfort zone and try to contribute with a nice post! 

Exciting times are ahead for Steemit and Steem. Ideas and projects all over the place. The fork is on it´s way, as speculation too :). SteemFest was a huge success. I can literally feel the positive energy from this huge Meet-up...

I remember a few days ago reading a post from @joseph. In the comment section, all kind of Steemians where exchanging their minds and ideas. One was about that Steemit was not actually a social media platform but more of a blogging one. I thought it was interesting and accurate fact. And, a few weeks later, busy.org was created. I just thought - wow - Steemians are amazing :) I was just starting to see the big picture! And, all this brought me to think about those two ideas...

This post is 100% Steem Power. 

Steem Viral - A Social Networking Exchange

A few days ago, I was checking what was going  in the crazy world of ICO´s. And, I noticed that several project were using viral marketing campaigns to promote their projects.

On those platforms in exchange of liking, sharing on different social media websites you would earn points that you could then exchange for Bitcoins or other coins/tokens.

I thought, that it would be great for Steem to have its own social media exchange. Where Steemians could come and check which announcement or project there is to promote. They would earn Steem Viral Points for sharing or liking them on other social media platform. They could then exchange those Points for Steem at a given exchange rate! Also a great way to spread/distribute Steem among newbies or even new comers. Everyone likes a little reward. 

Enabling also any other project being build around Steem to create a campaign and getting it viral (a free campaign section would also be created) I thought a useful and friendly way to earn your first Steem! 

Of course Thecryptofiend mentioned that the idea had to be simple. I am not a programmer so I do not know, how complicated it is to create such a website.

Then, this first idea, brought me to the second one. Which is that Steemit as it´s own official channel on Facebook and Tweeter. But, Steemit is not Steem...Steem, our decentralise currency needs also an official channel and website!

Steem City - A decentralised world!

As I mentioned in the beginning of my article, the fact that Steemit was not a social media platform but more of a blogging one, was actually a very important factor. Then, seeing the brand new project @busy.org validated this idea.

I was starting to see Steemit and all the other projects as part of a decentralise city, build around the decentralised currency STEEM. Steemit is of course the first platform build around  Steem. Still it remains a blogging platform (even if it is much more than that) for a lot of newcomers. Those newcomers might have been overwhelmed  with this fact. This is why I think Steem City should have different clear entrances. 

More and more projects are being build around Steem. A project like busy.org will attract a all new group of people. Which is great for Steem, Steemit and all the community.

This is why, I think Steem (the currency) should also have an official website. Like Steemit it should have its own social channels and website. This website would be a platform where newcomers could find a clear access to all the different platforms build around the Steem currency. New comers would have a new entrance to the Steem World, through a great minimalist and clear website. About minimalist design a link to a great post from @kevinwong - Just Steemit - also an entrance to the challenge

Through this official STEEM website, it would also be easier to communicate, to make announcement or any important updates concerning our decentralise currency and city.  The communication would be then  clearer and more laser focused, the viral effect would be stronger. 

We could then use Steem Viral exchange to make the announcement go viral even faster. 

A few last words...

 I hope you enjoyed my post. I may assume, a lot of those ideas, might have been discussed or might be underway. Nevertheless, it was a great pleasure writing this article as I was silent for a long time :)

This is the link to the X-Prize Challenge. In the comment section you will also find all the others ideas from other members.

Thanks to @thecryptofiend for the input I got from his challenge.

I wish you all a beautiful day. And please leave a comment and tell me what you think about what I wrote and Steem´s future 

Follow Me @charles-d



Sort:  


Thank you for your request to include this post in the STEEM BOOSTER list! The post is approved because you powered up minimum 100 STEEM in the last 24 h and you are not currently powering down!

Wow- that was quick 😊 Thank you very much @steemboost
For sure, I have never Powered Down 😁

I am familiar with the Viral Exchange via the Stratis ICO - it is certainly a good idea for spreading the word. Also a conventional Steemit website with just information for new users would be very helpful. We could collate all the useful information in a single place and people could access it without even needing to be on Steemit or even have an account.

Thank you for your comment, it made me very happy!
Yep, this is also how I got familiar with it 😊 I think the reward aspect makes people take action sooner and think less!
I have noticed that a lot of members are re-modeling the marketing and communication aspect...which is great!
I think that a lot of focus is on Steemit and we are in a way not communicating enough on Steem "The Currency" which is the fastest Crypto Currency at the moment. This is why I think, using Steem.io would be the perfect website to communicate on Steem, Steemit and future project.
Check also the Blog section it is empty, it would be great to have a news/blog section with the latest updated that we could all share on social network.
So I totally agree with your way of seeing things!

We are part of the Arcade City ICO launch team and it is amazing what you can do when you have a dedicated group of people promoting a project across the internet. So many people are joining the ICO who have never used Crypto before.

Totally agree with the dedicated community aspect... I nearly joined the Arcade City ICO, how did it end?
I read there was a few issues with a few code lines? Was this true?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53375.38
ETH 2393.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15