You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Steemit X-Prize - A Competition to Brainstorm Ideas for Promotion and Marketing

in #ideasfactory8 years ago

I never even knew about this competition when I wrote this post
https://steemit.com/advertising/@beanz/using-the-baader-meinhof-phenomenon-to-advertise-steemit
It costs absolutely nothing to change your profile picture on social media. But since social media is what we are marketing here, I think it is on social media that we should be promoting steemit.

My idea is simple:

Every active steemit user could be promoting steemit without even trying to convince people to join. People are more inclined to explore something they find themselves than something a friend pushed them into. (Not that I would discourage people to encourage people to join).

The frequency illusion is a commonly used phenomenon in the marketing world. Just seeing steemit 3 times is 3 different places is enough to make somebody think it's everywhere and significant enough to look into.

I've changed my whatsapp, viber and other messenger apps to the photos above. I also shared the steemfest photos on facebook, and photos are the easiest thing to get onto your friends feed so I would encourage every attendee of the festival to do the same. It also cost me nothing to upload a vlog about steemfest.

If every steemit user did the same, it wouldn't be long before their friends would come asking about it like mine have.

As for what I like most about steemit. The community and the possibilties as expressed in my vlog

Sort:  

Great idea. I think I remember you suggesting it before.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62922.70
ETH 2543.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83