Idea: Service That Shows You Google Search Stats of Your Steem Posts

in #idea5 years ago (edited)

google-search.jpg


I personally try to keep a close eye on how my Steem articles are doing in the Google search results. Currently, I just do this by manually searching for prominent keywords that appear in my articles. Usually only for specific articles which I know to have little competition in the Google search results, just so I don't have to go through a lot of search result pages.

In the past, I've used various tools to check my Google search ranking of websites that I owned, usually for a whole range of different keywords in many different combinations. It seems that a lot of these tools have either disappeared or that they do not support checking the search results for individual pages on a website.


Is it possible to create such a tool for Steem?

Ideally, there should be some sort of service that allows you to keep track of your Steem post's Google search position for certain keywords. I have no idea whether this would even be feasible, but I reckon that it's not entirely impossible for someone to create a service like this.

We currently do not have any way of knowing how popular our articles are. Even the inaccurate view counter has been removed from the Steemit UI. If there was a way to keep track of the Google search results of our articles, at least we have some idea how popular our articles are.

External Applications

If you know of an external application that could provide the same service I'm describing here, please do let me know. Of course it would be better to have a tool that's specifically designed for Steem posts, but I'd be willing to try out anything that could possible work.

Do share this idea with any developers you think might be interested!


Featured image from Pixabay

hit counter

Sort:  

This is really interesting. I might try to take some time and dig into this a little more. It feels like it might be something I can actually handle! I really miss the view counter!

Posted using Partiko Android

This is such an interesting idea and I Would love to see it come about but i have no coding skills to do anything like that but Hope someone does :)

Certainly a good idea - I’m not sure either what it would take to make your vision possible!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Je kan eventueel gewoon zelf een html view counter toevoegen aan je artikels. Dan kan je de bezoekersaantallen op pagina's makkelijk volgen.

http://www.cutercounter.com/

Denk niet dat dit mogelijk is. Check, heb hem toegevoegd aan deze post (onderaan).

Hmmm... this had never crossed my mind! I just write and I'm surprised if anyone reads anything that I write! I don't think I would appear on any Google search results... unless you search for "bengy" + "Steem" together....

You just rose by 6.52% upvote from @curationhelper courtesy of @backinblackdevil

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @daan!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.044 which ranks you at #3607 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 216 contributions, your post is ranked at #33.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 416 (03/02/19)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56766.86
ETH 2492.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36